We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop.”

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Full-Day Provincetown Land and Sea Scenic Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a wonderful, bus friendly stop - get your cameras out as you want to make sure you get pics!

Thank CapeCodBusMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

974 - 978 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited the Pilgrim museum and monument itself. While the monument was pretty neat, the museum to me was definitely what made the trip. It exceeded my expectations, which is fairly hard to do. $10 a person, and you visit a large museum that is about 4-5 rooms with tons of history incorporated in it. I loved reading everything about it, from when the pilgrims landed, to the civil war and info on the fishing days in Ptown. The monument is neat, a long climb but bearable compared to lighthouses I have been in. Definitely worth a trip.

Thank RunHappy262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Takes about 10 minuites to climb the monument. It's a easy climb to the top . On a clear day you can see Boston. Great View.

Thank Beachglassgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our third visit to Provincetown, but our first to the Pilgrim Monument. We always either ran out of time or felt it might be too cloudy. The museum, at the base of the monument, is much larger than it appears when you first enter. The monument isn't difficult to climb - it's a combination of stairs and ramps. The views in all directions from the top of the tower are breath-taking. I got some amazing photos. For a $10 admission price ($7 for students), it's a great deal!

Thank PaddlingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you like history as much as we do, you must go there to see this and climb up the tower. View is great.

Thank PJAntil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing