We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta Stay at the Moffett House!”
Review of Moffett House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moffett House
Ranked #21 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gotta Stay at the Moffett House!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My sister and I had such a wonderful time at the Moffett House! The hosts were so nice and fun to be around, and the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable!! You can't beat the location - right the the center of downtown Provincetown! Russ and Todd were absolutely fabulous and very accommodating. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    35
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
83
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had such a wonderful experience at the Moffet House last week. I just got into town and my trusty Provincetown guide book had a nice review of the inn explaining its great location and Free Bike Rentals! Todd and James, the inn keepers, were warm and welcoming and made me feel right at home. They were like my mini tour guides letting me know all the great spots to check out. They set me up in room 6. Private clean bathroom, hot shower,coffee, backyard, tv, a great bike and right in the center of Commercial Street...It was great. I'm planning to go back this summer with some of my friends and show them the little hideaway I found!
Love, Katherine

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very nice friendly guest house with wonderfuly comfortable bed and quality sheets and pillows. Excellent accommodation for the price and super friendly house manager. The location was also excellent. Wished I could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmafluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed in room #3 last summer in July 2011. My friend was in room# 4. Great time! The stay was so relaxing and enjoyed every minute I stayed at the house. Russ was the accommodating host as ever and Luciano was quite the charmer. The location is fabulous and the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable and quite enjoyable. Great deal for the summer peak season. And the bike rental! Can't wait for our July 2012 visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are worth the visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRONZIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Moffett House was situated down a charming, almost-secret-like passageway within a stone's throw of the chaos of Commercial Street near MacMillan Wharf, but yet felt removed from the center of the action. My friends & I were thankful to have cafes, ATMs, Portuguese bakery, pharmacy, health-food store, restaurants & entertainment galore within 5 minutes walk of our doorstep. The bikes were a terrific bonus and readily allowed us to escape the crowds and explore Race Point Beach, Herring Cove Beach and Beech Forest nearby.

We enjoyed conversation with other guests and Russ & Mark who made us truly feel at home, almost like family. We all slept well, finding the bed comfortable and thought this is where we'd like to stay when in Provincetown next.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtlbaltdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We have just stayed at Moffett House and absolutely loved it. The location is great - very close to Commercial street, and yet quiet and cozy. A lovely little garden in the front where you can eat and/or socialize with friends. The owner, Russ, is the sweetest and friendliest man who went an extra mile to make our stay here a pleasurable one. For example, when we had an emergency, he offered to babysit our doggy.The rooms were clean and cozy. We appreciated the opportunity to use bikes for free (not many other hotels offered this). It is a dog-friendly hotel - and that was the major reason we chose it in the first place. Our mini-dachshund had a great time here, and we appreciated the kindness with which both the owner and the other guests treated her. At the same time, Russ was making sure that guests with dogs understood the needs of the other guests for quiet, especially in the evening. Luciano is wonderful, too: he was a great resource to help us choose great shows, restaurants, and even a photographer. We are surprised to read some other people complaining about small rooms, "basic" conveniences, and parking: Moffett House is a great value for the money, and while parking is tough in town, we were always provided with a parking space. Of course, if one needs a more upscale - and pricier -place, and is allergic to dogs, he/she needs to look at other options. We, however, had a great experience, and will be back the moment we can.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller47776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've been to Provincetown twice and stayed here both times - Provincetown is not a cheap place to visit, so we were really pleased to find Moffett House as one of the more affordable, less pricey places. The location could not be more perfect, as it is right in the centre of the town, but being just off the main street there's no street noise whatsoever.

Russ and Luciano were both incredibly friendly and helpful, always around and available to help with anything we needed. As we were on a budget, we rented the smallest room (No.1) both times, it really is a small room, but we were rarely there so didnt need much space. It has aircon (a little rattley and loud but it works), a TV with dvd player and a mini-fridge.

Moffett House is perfect for travellers who want to stay somewhere informal, friendly and relaxed where they can feel at home - For those wanting a more pampered/luxury experience, they're probably better off elsewhere. It is basic - breakfast in the morning is out on the side in the small hallway for you to serve yourself, bagels, coffee, muffins and orange juice. There is a computer there with net access for anyone to use, although there is also free wifi in the house for anyone with laptops/smartphones. We often sat outside in the backyard, or out in the front, where you can meet and talk to other travellers (and not if you dont want to!), everyone is very friendly.

Sharing the bathrooms was no problem, you do sometimes have to wait a little while at busy times, but never for too long. And at these busy times the floor can get kinda wet - but it always seems pretty clean to me.

We love staying here, this 2nd time we returned with 2 friends, who similarly loved it and said it felt like home very quickly. You can use the kitchen and pretty much anything in the house you want to - Luciano even did some washing for our friend!

Parking in Provincetown is not cheap - You have to park at one of the $20 a day places nearby. Make sure you pay up front if you are staying more than 1 day - We didn't do this and nearly accidentally got our car towed after staying 4 days! (Admittedly there are big signs telling you to do this!!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Power_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#25 of 62 in Provincetown
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tucker Inn
Tucker Inn
#37 of 62 in Provincetown
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at 7 Central
Inn at 7 Central
#8 of 62 in Provincetown
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#11 of 62 in Provincetown
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffett House

Property: Moffett House
Address: 296A Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2204
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moffett House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moffett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing