We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located with Nice Clean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Carver Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our 2 night stay here. My husband and I were visiting for our wedding anniversary and a favorite spot of ours in Plymouth is Burial Hill. You can't get a location closer than the John Carver Inn. Nice steep walk up to the left of the hotel and you're there. Now as for the hotel itself; the staff could have been friendlier, but the room itself was great. Nice and clean, ample space, and a great working air conditioner on a 93 degree day. We thought the memory foam top beds were pretty comfy too. The wi-fi worked in our room but was shut off during the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

KarenB, I am sorry to hear that you thought our staff could have been friendlier. We here at the Inn have been working hard to keep guest service a top priority with our staff. I do want to thank you for your review of our hotel and the nice things you said about us. Please visit us again soon. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 775 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I owe this review to the John Carver Inn after the service *we* were given. After booking the room for our exchange daughter's family, there was a delay leaving Brazil and I called very late one night to postpone a reservation. Daniel was very understanding toward the situation. When I embarassingly had to call back the next night to add a night back in, he recalled our conversation and went above and beyond to make sure I could check them in after the airport.
Check in was polite and fast, rooms looked great (I was told beds were comfy and they appreciated they were so large!), and I was envious after hearing about the pool and HOT tub.
Check out was also speedy.
I really appreciate the friendly service and as most reviews will tell you- the location cannot be beat. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeantownGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Beantowngal08, We are happy that we could host your guest here at the John Carver Inn while they were in town. I just wanted to let you know that you can come and experience our hospitality for yourself any time. Thank You - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place but I would not have been happy if I had paid full price. The hotel itself is older and has been updated in a hit or miss way. The hotel entrance is in serious need of a paint job and the carpet is filthy. Two dusty fake plants flank the door. They are wrapped in lights but not plugged in. Bad first impression! The lobby is ok and the restaurant and lounge are good. The halls were dark and the carpets were in need of cleaning. The standard room is on the small side but is tastefully decorated and clean. The bathroom is also small with limited counter space and the shower curtain rod does not bow out so the liner attacks you while you shower which skeeves me out! Older tub with stick on non slip strips was also skeevy. Nice spa and nice theme pool. Location kind of far from what we wanted to see and do. Walkable but quite a hike and parking in Plymouth was a nightmare. Not a bad hotel but not as nice as it seems online. The staff, however are top notch. Wonderful customer service!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJDels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We truly loved this Inn, upon arrival, to our surprise we received a $10 voucher for the adjoining Hearth N Kettle restaurant! We thought the furniture and décor was perfect for this Inn, crystal lamps, 4 poster beds, just lovely! and everything was very clean. Our rooms were 302+304 , and the beds and pillows were *THE BEST* we have ever slept in at a hotel, so comfortable! (ok the bed is a little high, but we felt like a King + Queen in this big 4 poster bed!) The staff at the front desk were very helpful, even when we hit a snag they went out of their way to fix the problem. The pool is really great for kids. We enjoyed the surrounding area, Plymouth Plantations, the beach areas, the shopping and antique shops- all right near this lovely Inn!
We are scheduling a time to go again soon~

Room Tip: 4 Poster bed rooms are furnished lovely and are very nice. (the fireplace is not "real or gas&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkroses20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great, friendly service, convenient location and totally insane (in a good way) pool! If the pilgrims interred in Burial Hill just behind this hotel knew about the water slide, this place would be totally haunted! Sure, the decor and fixtures are outdated, but cleanliness, friendliness and convenience are the dealmakers for me, and you get those here. Complimentary coffee and continental breakfast would be a great addition, but the adjoining H 'n' K restaurant provides friendly service and a plentiful all-meal menu. So wake up, tank up, and walk to any Plymouth attraction in minutes.

Room Tip: Walls are on the thin side here. Ask for a top floor away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianbascle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Plenty of parking. Nice water park for kids (big enough). Staff very nice and helpful especially Karen. Our first visit to area from Buffalo, we were in need of finding great restaurants, etc that the staff was able to assist. Only complaint was the mattress although while we were there they were putting new ones in the rooms. Hearth n Kettle restaurant was very good and reasonable. Need to get a package deal that includes food there. Great location. We had standard room and it was fine. Did have some problem with satellite tv but had heavy rains. New bar opened and looks nice but did not go in. I would recommend.

Room Tip: standard room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandlady130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Had room 311 and then moved to 333. Beds are very strange, big thick "memory foam" mattress, lumpy and soft and you need a ladder to get in the bed? Pillows are like spongy blobs, useless. In room coffee maker makes really bad coffee. The room itself is OK, clean neat, remodeled bathroom. Dark hallways need some brighter bulbs installed, Building 19 at $.39 each maybe?
All in all, much better than the Gov. Bradford Inn down the street and not as good as the Radisson, both of which we have stayed at in the past.
Front desk ladies very nice, not their fault the owners are incompetent.

Room Tip: We had room 333 which was quiet, also had room 311 A/C compressor noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
285 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Carver Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Carver Inn & Spa

Address: 25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: $137 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Carver Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your John Carver Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Carver Hotel Plymouth
John Carver Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing