We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
John Carver Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

One of my favorite nights on vacation ever. After putting the kids (ages 12 and 10) to bed, my husband and I took a little stroll through the town and walked back to hang out in the bar. The staff are super friendly but hung back when they saw us talking privately. The room was nicely decorated, the A/C was quiet and worked fast to freshen up the room, very inviting entrance/lounge. We didn't use the on -site restaurant, but they were kind of pushing it - not a surprise really.
The location really is the star of the show, you can walk most of the town from the hotel, leave your car in their huge parking lot. It's too far out to Plimoth Plantation, but the whole "audio tour" can be based from the hotel. The kids loved the pool, which had a lifeguard on site. I wish smoking had not been allowed on the balcony outside the pool, but I'm very sensitive to cigarettes, most ppl wouldn't notice.
Overall, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: the back of the hotel (we were in room 231) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennconsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    233
    123
    56
    36
See reviews for
377
169
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchendon, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in a lovely third floor room facing the back of the hotel. It was really quiet! The beds were very comfortable queen-sized beds with plenty of pillows. There were also two very comfortable chairs. There is only one elevator, so sometimes you need to wait to use the elevator. The hotel is attached to a great restaurant, the Hearth and Kettle. The staff made you feel welcome from the moment you went to the desk to register. There is a spa. There's also a pool. We were at a conference so we also took advantage of the food served to a large group. It was excellent --- warm, tasty, and appealing. The room, however, was small for the number of people in attendance. I guess the only downside of the hotel is that the heater/air conditioner is very loud when you're trying to sleep. To add to that, you hear the water every time someone in an adjoining room uses the toilet during the night.

Room Tip: The back rooms are better because there's no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Location does not have a harbor view but it is awesomely situated, with an easy walk to Burial Hill (awesome!), Jenny Grist Mill, the town brook, Plymouth Rock...and not too far from the Lobster Hut. Hotel is older but has been updated, with classic furniture. In-room fireplaces use sterno cans. One surprise their pirate themed pool with slide, which we rented for a children's party and followed up with pizza in the restaurant. Pool is a favorite of local kids, but we were nervous about the lifeguard situation so I'd recommend a vigilant adult or two in the pool at all times. Small in-house gym with dumbbells to 50 lbs, local running is East Coast typical (poor sidewalks, narrow streets) but pretty, run south for beautiful homes, north to see businesses. Decent sleep, sometimes occasionally delayed by wedding groups which were noticeable but nothing like I've endured elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you need sleep on a weekend, stay away from the big banquet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadda404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We again visited John Carver Inn and as always had a very relaxing stay. Our room was clean and well stocked. I bumped into Nora from housekeeping and chatted a little. She has a great personality and you can see she cares about her job.
We ate all our meals at the Hearth and Kettle. The food was tasty and fresh. The staff was great too, fro the young gentleman seating us to the different wait staff: Molly B, Carissa, Leanne, Riley and Pamela. All were very attentive and provided quick service.
The construction going on for the new tavern was kept surprisingly quiet for the amount of work being done. I didn't notice any smells or dust in the air. It looks like it's going to be a nice room to relax.

It's especially great that the hotel is so close to Court St. as well as the river and waterfront. We only drove one time while we were there- due to rain.

Overall another great stay, I look forward to many more.

Room Tip: I always prefer the Queen Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi, just my preference. (3rd floor) The poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, NM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely Hotel, great rooms, great location, good restaurant.- good shopping around it, easy to get to other historic places.

I would not recommend Plimouth Plantation, unless you have children- more for children, and pricey.

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinTyrone_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
LinTyrone_NM, Thank you for your comments about our hotel. - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a great hotel! The staff were so great! Beforehand I had emailed inquiring about a romance package of some sort. They emailed me back right away with all the info and set it up for me via email. Awesome! The staff were great at check in and check out, super friendly. The room was great! The sheets were the softest I have ever slept on and I will now have to purchase some! The shampoo and conditioner were even great! I will be going online to see where I can purchse them! I usually do not like hotel rooms because of the heating/cooling sysytem and the dry air and noise. This room was perfect! We had the heat on for a little and then off as well. The room and noise were PEREFCT! Also, no other noise could be heard from other rooms; and this was a big holiday weekend. Restaurant and spa onsite as well! Great location, easy walking to the waterfront with tons of restaurants and shopping! We really had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a fireplace room but didn't even use it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Jenniferb777, It’s nice to see that the new style of sheets we are turning over to made for a more comfortable stay for you. Also that you enjoyed your time here with us. We look forward to your next visit. - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely way to spend some time in Plymouth. Great location, friendly staff and beautiful accommodations. We looked forward to our visit and were not disappointed. Our spacious room was lovely, with period furnishings and decor. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Carol S, It is nice to hear you enjoyed your time in Plymouth and we could be a part of that. Come back soon. - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
274 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Carver Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Carver Inn & Spa

Property: John Carver Inn & Spa
Address: 25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Carver Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your John Carver Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Carver Hotel Plymouth
John Carver Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing