We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took the kids here. Great pool and very convenient location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Carver Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very convenient location. We spent a great deal of time on the main area shops and restaraunts so it was centrally located to all. The hotel itself was clean, staff was friendly, and the kids enjoyed the pool. Hotel rooms were normal and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Christopher G,
Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear from our guests that have stayed with us. We built the pool with kids in mind and do try to keep our property clean for all of our guest. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 780 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here as a surprise to our 10 yr old. The location and fact there is a pirate pool water slide / restaurant right there is such a plus!! Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfy also:) We will definitely be going back . The staff was also excellent!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liszari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Liszari,
We can’t wait to have you come back! Thanks for the review and I am very glad that your 10 year old enjoyed our Pool. Hope to see you next time around. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first trip to the John Carver Inn. I'd heard about the pool designed with a water slide and a Mayflower theme. We chose it because of the pool, but the inn was much larger than I expected and the customer service in both the Inn and Restaurant were great. They try to do little extra things that can make a difference. We would go back. We had a roomy, clean room with two queen beds. The rates were very affordable with free access to the pool, kids activities, free parking and a lower rate for two nights.

They had a show (music, family humor, interactive) included for the kids Saturday night at 7pm.

The wall are a bit thin for noise, but we all slept well. There were lots of people there with kids. We also saw them setting up for some events. Example: baby shower

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are convenient as the pool is on the same floor. Don't get a room immedia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savann8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Savann8h,
Thanks for taking the time to review us. My staff and I have been trying hard to work on those little things that you spoke of. It is nice to hear they are being noticed. Hopefully we can see you next vacation week as well. -Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Gov. Carver Inn in Plymouth, Ma. They have a fun pool from a 4-11 year old point of view. They have a great slide into the water. It is only 4.5-5 feet deep so it is relatively safe. Two guards on duty. Hot tub just for adults. Not long enough to swim laps.


Adequate restaurant Hearth and Kettle mostly American type of good but some sea food choices. We got a $10.00 off the restaurant bill for staying there so my 6 year old ate for free, basically. Dinner bill came to $23.00 for 3 people (adults got sandwich type of food) breakfast was $11.00. Friendly staff.

They have a spa but we did not use it but other guests spoke positively about it.

I left my cell phone charger there and the housekeeping staff was extremely helpful in returning it via the mail.

Room was clean but basic, no fridge, which would have been helpful since I had a child. Walls are thin. Could hear the person in the room next to me snoring. Did not have the advantage of kicking him, like I do my husband at home.

Great location next to Brewster park. You walk a long a river and come out at Plymouth Rock and the Mayflower. The herring were flowing in April, so that was fun.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

maryb, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Great to hear we got your phone charger back to you. I do recommend that next time you stay with us that you take advantage of our Beach Plum Spa so you can experience how good it is. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed one night here as a last minute mini vacation with our younger kids. The rooms were standard all the way around. I didn't see any problems with cleanliness like other reviews. The pool is a nice feature. And a good size. Only problem is the chlorine is VERY strong. I'm not normally one of those very sensitive people who complains a out smells. I know when u have an indoor pool the fumes tend to be stronger since the ventilation is not as good. This however was a different story. Maybe they added extra since of was school vacation week and filled with kids. At check out there was a over billing problem but they fixed it quickly no having to argue or ask for manager's so that was nice.. All around great mini stay for us ..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyva0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Eyva0604, Thank you for taking the time write your review. We are working to reduce the chlorine smell by improving our ventilation and filtration systems. It was very nice to hear that the Front desk was able to help you with that billing mistake before you left. It is always nice to see staff being proactive in helping our guest. Hope to see you and your family again soon. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was not our first trip to the John Carver Inn. We always enjoy our stay there with reasonable prices through their website. There is a swimming pool with a water slide going through a replica of the Mayflower and a hot tub in the shape of Plymouth Rock. There is a small game room, a spa and a good restaurant in which you receive a $10 discount when you check in. The rooms are spacious and clean. Unfortunately the gift shop has closed as they had beautiful reasonably priced gifts. Beware of an added $7.99 charge for room service in addition to meal tax and gratituity included on the bill. The other drawback is 100's of kids, in the lobby, at the pool and running through the halls at times. The pool area is a big attraction for birthday parties and cake served in the restaurant. Some rooms are adjoining which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed in a queen suite a few years ago and the bed and sleeper sofa were the most uncomfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingwoman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Travelingwoman45, Thank you for your review. We were also sad to see our gift shop close as it was here from the beginning with us. I am glad to see that you liked our rooms and the Hearth’n Kettle restaurant. Please come visit us again. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked the Beach Plum Romance Package for my husband and I this weekend to have a little getaway close to home and they were lucky we stayed the first night. Started with dinner in the Hearth & Kettle restaurant downstairs - had more service from the young man who seated us than from their own waitstaff! 75% of the food was not good, some was alright. After we finished eating, here comes all the fruit flies all over the food. We checked in late so we decided to go up to bed. My husband went to sleep and I went to take a shower. The silicone around the inside of the shower has black mold growing on it. The "2 person" Jacuzzi in the bedroom had other guests hair all over it, and the mirror next to the Jacuzzi had hand and feet prints and smudges ALL over it. Figuring it was way too late to go looking for another place to stay I went to sleep in the most uncomfortable bed with rock hard pillows. Went downstairs as soon as we woke up and checked out and informed the staff of how dirty and gross the room was and they did not care! Didn't stay to get our massages or anything because if there are bugs in the food and the room wasn't clean who knows how gross the spa is going to be. We left and went to the Radisson down the street and that place is spotless with super friendly staff, definitely made up for an almost ruined weekend.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksalamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Ksalamone, We here at the John Carver are very upset to see your review. Our Hotel is kept very clean and we take pride in this fact and to hear anything different is very disappointing. Hopefully you would give us another chance. Thanks - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
6.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
289 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Carver Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Carver Inn & Spa

Address: 25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: $128 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Carver Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your John Carver Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Carver Hotel Plymouth
John Carver Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing