We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty & disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
John Carver Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty & disgusting!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked the Beach Plum Romance Package for my husband and I this weekend to have a little getaway close to home and they were lucky we stayed the first night. Started with dinner in the Hearth & Kettle restaurant downstairs - had more service from the young man who seated us than from their own waitstaff! 75% of the food was not good, some was alright. After we finished eating, here comes all the fruit flies all over the food. We checked in late so we decided to go up to bed. My husband went to sleep and I went to take a shower. The silicone around the inside of the shower has black mold growing on it. The "2 person" Jacuzzi in the bedroom had other guests hair all over it, and the mirror next to the Jacuzzi had hand and feet prints and smudges ALL over it. Figuring it was way too late to go looking for another place to stay I went to sleep in the most uncomfortable bed with rock hard pillows. Went downstairs as soon as we woke up and checked out and informed the staff of how dirty and gross the room was and they did not care! Didn't stay to get our massages or anything because if there are bugs in the food and the room wasn't clean who knows how gross the spa is going to be. We left and went to the Radisson down the street and that place is spotless with super friendly staff, definitely made up for an almost ruined weekend.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksalamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Ksalamone, We here at the John Carver are very upset to see your review. Our Hotel is kept very clean and we take pride in this fact and to hear anything different is very disappointing. Hopefully you would give us another chance. Thanks - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    235
    123
    57
    37
See reviews for
385
170
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the John Carver Inn in Plymouth, MA this past weekend. I can't say enough about what a wonderful place this is. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. We ate at the Hearth and Kettle restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Not only was the food fantastic, it was very reasonable in price. The potato topped salmon, the cinnamon bun pancakes, and the cinnamon raisin french toast were the highlights. Our waitress, Amy was wonderful! I strongly encourage anyone looking for a place to stay in the Plymouth area to consider the John Carver.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 331. It was great and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinder_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Kinder_11, Thank you for your review. We love to see comments that mention our employees. The team here has been working hard to take care of our guest and I am glad that Amy took care of you. We hope to see you in the future if you should ever visit Plymouth again. - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with our team. The staff was very friendly and patient with out group of boys. Pool area was great and the location gave lots of options for food. The beds were very suprisingly comfortable. We will be back next year. They offer a great rewards program too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli33hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Kelli33hh, Thank you for the review that you posted. Your group was great to have, the boys were respectful to the other hotel guest and some of my staff even noted that they were well behaved in the Hearth’n Kettle and how polite they all were. We hope to see you next year - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friends and I have stayed at the John Carver in Plymouth for a quilting weekend for one weekend every year for 10+ years and I cannot say enough great things about the staff and the facility. They are excellent! We look forward to our stay with them and even start planning our next year weekend before we leave. I have also stayed at the Inn for business and no request is too difficult to fulfill. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you to everyone for being so nice, friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back. The restaurant staff is great. The food is well prepared and always top quality. Beverly F.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Beverly, As always I want to say how nice it is to have you ladies come back every year. You all make such wonderful quilts and put up with the Staff and I coming in to admire your work. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you next year. - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently stayed and attended a quilting weekend. I found the staff outstanding! My individual needs were met quickly and efficiently. The inn was clean and well kept. My friends and I are looking forward to our return trip next year.
The Hearth n Kettle restaurant has an outstanding menu and staff who are extremely accommodating. They met and exceeded my dietary needs. This particular Hearth n Kettle has better food than other restaurants of the same name, I have experienced them separately .
I highly recommend a stay at a true treasure The John Carver Inn !

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and well maintained. No matter which room you chose you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We love having all of you come and visit us each March. I have enjoyed working with you ladies over the years and look forward to your event every year. See you all soon - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We took a last minute vacation with the kids ages 2 and a half and 7 months. Pool was absolutely perfect for the kids. It's very nice having a restaurant in the hotel. We stayed in a double room the first night. We found it a bit tight and the smell of chlorine was too much. We spoke to the front desk about seeing if we could upgrade to a king room , be careful who you speak to at the front desk we were not treated the way you should be treated. I was spoke to in a manner I did not find appropriate. I waited until shift change and spoke to someone else who treated us as we should be treated. She treated as if we were family , very nice to us much more professional. She quoted a price to upgraded our room To a king with fireplace which actually is not a fireplace Be advised... only to find out at checkout we were charged more than she quoted us. It happen to be the same girl that we had a problem with the day before so of course whatever we said was wrong. We were given the same attitude as the day before. so we decided to just leave. Overall for the price the hotel is great if you have little ones. The rooms are old and some of the staff could be trained again in hospitality. The kids had a great time and that's all that matters. We will probably not come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Melissa625,
Thank you for your review and it was nice to speak to you about your stay the other day as well. I assure you that we will take care of the issue you wrote about. I also would like to thank you for letting me know about the Front desk agent who did help you it is good to hear when one of our team does well. I look forward to seeing you when you choose to visit us again. - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family has stayed here every year since 2006. We love it! The pool is so much fun for the kids they recently added on to the arcade so there are things for children to do. We also get the package every year for edaville railroad I recommend that. The hearth and.kettle rest in the hotel does need some improving on the food but they do have a nice menu for children. It is located in downtown Plymouth close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Lisa M, Thank you for coming back over and over. I agree with you that the Edaville package is one of our best. It creates great memories for children and adults and we love being a part of it. Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
278 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Carver Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Carver Inn & Spa

Property: John Carver Inn & Spa
Address: 25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Carver Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your John Carver Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Carver Hotel Plymouth
John Carver Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing