We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Carver Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$139
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$149
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Cold Spring(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$189
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Spruce Motel(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Anchor Guesthouse(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
318
245
126
57
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
245
126
57
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshearth and kettlekettle restaurantplymouth rockwater slidesfun poolthemed poolfireplace suitelife guardshot tubwithin walking distancepool areakids loved the poolhotel restaurantgrist millan older hotelnew englandmayflower ii
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 786 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room was very comfortable and nice, the pool was amazing, and I had a delicious dinner at the Hearth and Kettle. My trip to the hotel was a little stressful due to some unforeseen travel problems, however Karen at the front desk did an awesome job helping out my girlfriend and I and made sure that we had a good stay. We can't wait to visit Plymouth again and stay at the John Carver !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Joe B. Thanks for your review. It’s great to hear that Karen took care of you and your girlfriend while here. Hope to see you again soon. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The people at check in/check out were awesome. Employees we bumped into in different areas were friendly and courteous. The fireplace and jacuzzi suite was clean and charming. This was our second visit. The Hearth and Kettle restaurant also has a great staff of friendly individuals who are very attentive. The food (breakfast and dinner) was very tasty and filling, great value for the money!
I highly recommend this hotel !!
Try the passport to history package, we had a blast.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 2nd floor, so if you have kids and want to be close to the pool, whirlpool and sauna choose the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Bob W.
Thank you for the review you left. It is always good to hear what great employees we have and that our guest enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at John Carver over a year ago with my daughter and grandson,we are local and everytime we drive by my grandson mentions how much fun he had there and when was I bringing him back??? The pool is an absolute blast for the kids,,,I even went down the slide!!! The rooms were somewhat dated,but very clean. Was nice to get coupons for the Hearth and Kettle,and able to bring food back to the room. Would be nice to have a microwave and fridge in the room,but we made due. We had only made reservations for one night,but stayed and extra night because we were all having such a fun time. We were able to get an Internet deal,but I no longer see that offered. We would love to return,and we do plan on coming midweek,so hoping that will help with the price.Any plans on bringing the internet deal back??? I hope the people who didn't have the best of experiences here,give it another try. Its so nice to feel like you're on a mini vacation,yet just down the road from hope. Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise5067Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Denise5067Plymouth,
Wow good to hear we made such an impression on your grandson and you. We can’t wait for you to come back and visit. Keep checking for deals on our Facebook page and around the web you never know what may pop up. Hope to see you soon. Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The front desk was warm and welcoming and very helpful with directions and activities in the area. The Hearth n kettle restaurant had some of the best breakfast I have ever had. My family and I stayed for 4 nights and ate breakfast everyday and never had a bad meal. The restaurant staff was caring and very accommodating we have two young children and the staff was very helpful and patient with them.The rooms were comfortable and clean. The pool was awesome. Overall we are Absolutly planning on staying here again. What a fantastic vacation. Thank You John Carver.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1620becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear 1620becca,
Thank you for your kind review. We here at the Inn love to hear how our staff was helpful and kind. It is good to hear that your children were taken care of by our staff. Please come visit us again with your family - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I think the check in/ out times are not accommodating for families there is a late afternoon check in and a 11 am check out if the purpose of renting is swimming in the themed pool then the times do not provide enough time for families with small children we had to take them out kicking and screaming because they didn't get to swim enough

Room Tip: the room was great minus a microwave or fridge, most family hotels I have been to provided these things would make it tough with infants
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattydunn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear pattydunn28,
We here at the hotel do extend a late check out for most people who ask. Although it cannot always be accommodated, most days it is not a problem. The reasons for our check in (3pm) / out (11am) times are so that we can get the rooms ready for the next guest coming in to the hotel. We attempted to contact you about this review but have yet to hear back from you. I am sorry that this soured you on our hotel, but I would like to have you come and visit us again. Please contact me if you would like some more pool time as I saw you live locally - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews