We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
John Carver Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Purchased a deal through a travel site and went on a whim. What a fabulous night away! Kids loved the themed pool with the water slide. Very attentive lifeguards and long hours. Kids kept going back for more. Not crowded at all since it was an off peak time. Had a great kid friendly dinner at the Hearth n Kettle. So nice not to have to get bundled up on a January night. Would definitely recommend going with a family. Not sure I would go without kids though. Decor was a bit 80s but very clean and what do kids care! Also loved getting my nails done at the spa. Nice treat for mom!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachfamilybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thanks for your review we are proud to be a child friendly place. We have rooms that are geared towards adults and great Spa Packages for Big Kid getaways as well. I am happy to hear that the Beach Plum Spa, Hearth’n Kettle and the Pool were all good for you and your family as well. Please come see us again soon - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for John Carver Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 768 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this as a last minute package getaway for our anniversary. I read some of the reviews after booking and I wasn't totally sure WHAT to expect. I have to say; we have stayed in some very expensive 5 star hotels that came nowhere near the service standard we received here. It is not a swanky inn; but we found the room to be comfortable, attractive and extremely clean. The bed was comfortable and I many times have issues with beds. Part of our package was a $10 dining credit so we ate dinner at The Hearth and Kettle. Our server, Molly, was exceptional. The atmosphere was pleasant and the food was good. It is a family restaurant not a bistro is that is what you are looking for; but the value was excellent. No complaints. The only small hitch was that we had requested our champagne be delivered at 8:30 and we had to call down - a miscommunication at the desk. The girl at the desk was very nice and apologetic (we really were not upset at all - just wanted to let them know we hadn't gotten it). The young man who delivered our champagne (whom we had seen in the restaurant earlier) was very sweet and apologetic and refused our tip. Which - I felt badly about.. truthfully, it was not a BIG deal.
I would recommend this hotel without any reservation. I think sometimes people travel to the Cape and have some kind of wealth set of expectations. Frankly, I would rather stay someplace where the service is genuinely friendly as long as it is clean and comfortable. The Inn is also very close to all the major attractions and shopping - we did not use the pool... but saw it - it is probably a great bet for kids...
Lastly, as a married same gender couple it was very nice to walk into a hotel and not feel uncomfortable at all. Although this is New England; that is not always the case. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeckyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Just wanted to say how nice it is to hear what a good time you had with us. Molly and Aaron(he is who brought your champagne) are great employees and we are proud to have them as part of our team here at the John Carver Inn and Spa. I hope to see you both again in the future. Thank you for your kind words - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The inn is an older building, which doesn't bother me. We stayed 4 nights. I don't mind outdated decor but...... The beds and pillows are terrible. In serious need of replacing. The indoor theme pool was great for the 2 kids, but very run down with horrible dirty plastic lawn furniture for the adults. There wasn't an adult swim area. The Plymouth Rock hot tub wasn't practical for adults either. In the middle of the loud kiddie area. The restaurant on premise is awful. Terrible food. Terrible service. Overly large portions of cheap, unseasoned, overcooked slop. Tried the place several times, always disappointed. Eat anywhere in town for better food and service. On a higher note the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The kids loved it. I wouldn't stay here on an adult only vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotbikini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

I am sorry that our restaurant was not to your liking and that you felt the pool wasn’t good for adults. Our pool was built with families in mind and trying to give a little to everyone with the space we had. We do have two lap lanes in our pool which I know can get crowded with other swimmers at times and I wish you had the opportunity to use them. I am happy to know that our Staff was Pleasant and Helpful during your stay. We do have a wonderful Beach Plum Spa on site that is a great reason for adults to come stay with us as well. I hope you and your family have a happy New Year and thank you for your review. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rooms were outdated. Friends that we were here to visit wanted to come enjoy the pool with us. They were charged $20 per person even for the parents who weren't swimming. It is a nice pool so I understand charging to swim, but for the adults who come so they aren't leaving one person to watch all the kids, it's ridiculous! I won't come back, that's just wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easygoing8139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for a last minute family trip to visit other family in the area. The beds were very comfortable. Our 2 year old daughter LOVED the waterslide. Very friendly staff and great location. Didnt like the fact that if a family member who lived in the area wanted to come and use the pool it was $20 per person! That is extremely high especially for what the pool offered. Really liked having the restaurant right at the hotel, made for quick and easy meal options, some food was a bit undercooked and overpriced, but still was ok. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Danielle, Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We will review our policy about family members of guest using the pool that we currently have and see what we can do. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. Have a great New Year - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I can't disagree with the masses that say that the rooms are old. The bathrooms are sponge painted, probably to hide imperfections in the aging building, but they are clean. Despite being old, it has the coolest pool ever! My kids and my husband play for hours on the slide in the reproduction Mayflower. I personally enjoy the soothing warmth of Plymouth Rock, aka the hot tub. The restaurant is ok if you have the coupons as part of your package. If not, eat elsewhere. Katie's Burger Bar, just a short walk away, is great. We like to go to nearby Cornerstone Cafe for breakfast. There's a Tedesco store just next door in case you need anything and a Dunkin Donuts also within walking distance. Considering the other options in town, we'll continue to stay here. The pool is the big draw for us. Fun and centrally located!

Room Tip: Streetside rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLZplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
021574, Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for coming back. We are looking for forward to your next time with us. Please feel free to ask for me when you come. I love to speak with our guest about their experiences here at the Inn. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were old and grim. My 9 year old enjoyed the pool. The restaurant is subpar and immensely overpriced. The wifi was acceptable as was the central locale. All in all, a pale imitation of its gorgeous sister properties on Cape Cod. The John Carver Inn is an old hotel in need of renovation. If you're in the Delorean, set your time traveling circuits for the present and get outta here!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJEducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
021574, Manager at John Carver Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

NJEducator, Thank you for your review I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I am happy that your child enjoyed the pool. I hope that you will come give us another try if you are ever in the area again. We are constantly working to improve ourselves and I appreciate our guest feedback to help us do so. - Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
281 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Carver Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Carver Inn & Spa

Address: 25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: $143 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Carver Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your John Carver Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Carver Hotel Plymouth
John Carver Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing