We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A MISERABLE END TO A LOVELY WEEK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband are experienced world travellers, and spent 8 days touring New England in September with happy surprises every day until travelling to our last night at "A Beach House" in Plymouth, MA....well, not exactly IN Plymouth, as supposed, but 10 miles out of Plymouth. No one in or out of Plymouth (5 inquiries) had heard of this address or property.

STRIKE ONE: Un-locateable.

STRIKE TWO: After contacting the house by phone we were told to travel back and look for it's sign on the road. We did....no luck....no sign. We travelled almost back to Plymouth...still looking...called the house again... were asked where we were and told to wait till we were picked up. An individual, seemingly annoyed, arrived and explained that our confusion was caused by the fact that someone(?) had removed the sign, and told us to follow him which we did for more miles. When we turned onto a dirt road with no sign and only woods and corn fields on either side, I began to wonder if there would be a ransom note sent on our behalf shortly. The whole scenario began to raise the hair on the back of my neck. We were led away from a two-car parking lot behind the house by "Danny," and up stairs to the house without a hint of welcome or even help with the heavy suitcases. The ocean view was vast but the terrace... tiny and grim. Still seeming annoyed, he asked again "why didn't you call when you first couldn't find us?"....making US feel responsible. I could only surmise by his "attitude" and tone that he was not pleased we HAD found him, and said "You don't seem pleased that we DID find you. You told us that your house's sign is on the road, but there IS NO SIGN...didn't you know that?" By then, we were stepping into the 10X10 ft. kitchen which was.... creepy.....and I was really feeling edgy....I asked "are we the only guests?" He answered "no" and directed us to a bedroom suitable for an 8 yr. old, 3 ft. off the kitchen, and to a refrigerator containing "a half bottle of white and a half bottle of red...help yourselves." I couldn't believe what I was hearing....so..... confused and wary, again we asked why there was no sign on the road directing us to his house and he replied....ready???..."Don't get in my face about it lady."
I was startled and gobsmacked !!!

STRIKE THREE: The suitcases set on the kitchen floor 60 seconds before were immediately snatched up and our "host" told "I'd be warning fellow travellers about him and his establishment on TripAdvisor. And, don't you dare charge us for the night." Half way to our car he called out "Do you want me to find you another room?"

We arrived at a welcoming Holiday Inn a half hour later to lavish bedroom/bath at half the fee. Tip to B&B'ers...perhaps it's best to stay at B&B's early in the season when the surroundings are fresh, not the hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank impacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseBnB, Manager at A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

We are sorry to hear that you felt this way about your experience with us. The last thing we intend is for anyone to feel unwelcome. While we are completely sympathetic with your frustration about the missing sign, we were also frustrated, as it had just been stolen and the replacement had not yet arrived. The question about why you had not called earlier was not to make you feel responsible, but to convey that we would have been happy to help you find your was as soon as you had trouble. That said, we are sorry that you chose not to stay and enjoy the relaxing view and the company of our other guests, but are pleased to know that you found a place where you felt more comfortable. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

OMG! We are still dreaming about breakfast! Innkeeper Danny really outdid himself. This was not your average B&B meal. The Inn is perfectly located with tons to do, rain or shine. Our hosts Danny and Stephanie are a pleasure to be with. The views are great. We had the extremely spacious room downstairs and it was very comfortable and private. We will return for certain.

R & D

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseBnB, Owner at A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed in B and B's across the country and Hawaii. The Beach House hosts were the most gracious and warm. The breakfasts,prepared by Chef Danny, were gourmet level and delicious. The Beach House sits right above the water and the views are gorgeous and panoramic. There is a lovely patio set up that allows guests to take full advantage of the vistas. The common areas were very comfortable and while there is everything that a guest could need or want, the common areas are furnished in a non fussy way, which is important to us. I am a finicky traveler when it comes to cleanliness, especially beds and bath. I truly felt that I was in my own home, and slept quite peacefully. A must place to stay.

The Beach House is well situated for great touring and lots of activities. We are New Yorkers and were happily surprised by the food quality of many of the restaurants and their friendly prices.

J and J

Room Tip: The main floor rooms appealed most to us though the downstairs room is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce5641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseBnB, Owner at A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here and are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Think of a beach house and you think of something comfortable. A little rustic, informal, and as far away as one can imagine from all the stuff that sets your teeth on edge. And if it's a beach house where your friends live, friends who are generous and welcoming and take very good care of you but who also know when you want to be left alone, well, that's even better.

My wife and I had never met Danny and Stephanie before our visit this month, but they're such friendly and interesting people that by the time we had to leave they felt like friends we hope we'll see again soon.

The house is very comfortable, and it encourages the guests to socialize at the dining room table, the living room or on the back patio. The view is gorgeous in nearly every weather, and you can see all the way to the tip of Provincetown from the back of the house. To us, a water view is an indispensable part of a Cape Cod vacation, and this place has a great one.

Danny is a trained chef who cooks sensational breakfasts of omelets, waffles, pancakes and other dishes, with perfectly cooked bacon he further seasons himself. Once you've had it, you'll probably cook bacon the same way.

It's not the place for you if you insist on a big, formal bedroom or a place that looks like nobody lives there. But we found a place that was at turns both peaceful and lively, where we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, our hosts and the other guests.

We had a great time there. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room on the well-finished basement if you want room to spread out. The upstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseBnB, Owner at A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciated you rallying all of the guests for the "make your own" pizza party. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyable and relaxing. Days start with huge, well prepared breakfast cooked by a chef who seems to love his work. Inn keepers go out of their way to be helpful.
Easy access to Cape Cod. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosetwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseBnB, Manager at A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

We are so glad you came to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This B&B was a wonderful find. A serene setting, with a spectacular view overlooking Cape Cod Bay, the Beach House is perfect for a relaxing, peaceful weekend. The innkeepers, Danny and Stephanie, were excellent hosts. Danny prepared a dinner of local halibut fit for a special occasion and followed up with superb breakfast! Though you feel like you are isolated on this beautiful spot, many attractions, including Plymouth and Cape Cod, are an easy drive from the Beach House. We would highly recommend the Beach House!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sand1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseBnB, Owner at A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it was a real pleasure having you both here. We look forward to hearing how things continue to grow with your venture, and look forward to welcoming you back to Plymouth when you have time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

What Danny The Innkeeper/Chef Extraordinaire and his wife Stephanie have going here is simply perfect. Tucked away via a wilderness road through big woods/field grass, their place rises up on a high, private overlook out to Cape Cod Bay. Their place is a working beach house, not a prototypical country or in-town B&B. Has updated, cozy bedrooms, great outdoor decks including a 3-season screened porch. You have to go down the long steps to shore (during low tide) to get a view of neighboring homes as you can barely get a feel for them up on top. Danny is just one of those great, funny people that you feel like you could be friends with instantly. If not during casual time, you'll discover this during his signature breakfast sessions which are worth a visit by themselves. The Beach House Bed & Breakfast is close to all the things the Plymouth/Manomet area has to offer but you feel like you're away from it all here. We saw many other nice but "typical looking" B&Bs in the area that we're sure provide a great experience but for our $$ and our bent toward more relaxing, natural experiences, this is the place to stay! We enthusiastically recommend this hidden gem. Thanks Danny and Stephanie for the perfect respite!

Room Tip: If you're used to avg-lrg bathroom space, just a heads up that the room we stayed in has a prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbski57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
10.5 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
778 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
8.5 mi away
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach House Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast

Address: 45 Black Pond Ln, Plymouth, MA 02360-1383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $175 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing, private B&B right on the water at Cape Cod Bay. Breakfasts prepared by owner who is a NYC trained chef. Minutes from Cape Cod and historic Plymouth, MA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing