We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way. Highly recommend.”
Review of Auberge Gladstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Gladstone
Ranked #14 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Non traditional "guesthouse" accommondations. Independant small suite. Interior of room was lovely & had everything we could ask for. Comfortable bed, stylish furnishings, robes, soft towels, internet, all basic toiletries, coffee & milk, tv & even DVD service which we did not try out. Owner & staff were extremely pleasant & courteous. You can walk to main street where shops are but car or bike would be better overall. Did not go to hot tub or use bikes, but it is great that they were also available. Overall awesome!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigismommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Good position just outside Plymouth. We thought it was a B & B but there is NO BREAKFAST. It is room only. The web site says breakfast is available for $15 extra although we were not given this opportunity and at that price we probably wouldn't have wanted it!

Although it says on the website that there are three rooms we were told on booking that there were only two in the Auberge. We were on the first floor. Very spacious, comfortable bed, lovely shower all very clean.
In the bathroom there is a microwave, iron and board, kettle and coffee maker. Ground coffee provided but unfortunately no milk even though there was a fridge in the bedroom. Could be a little less furniture in the bedroom. An artificial fire and fireplace is not really needed as there is central heating. It was very hot during our stay but there was air-conditioning. The loft which is the other room could also have less furniture. It has air-conditioning, necessary as there are only two skylights in the room.

The owners are not on site. We didn’t see anyone throughout our stay, though you are able to contact someone by phone if necessary.

Would probably recommend it to a friend if they were clear of their limitations.

We had breakfast at Persy’s Place and All American Diner
Evening meals at East End Grill and Sam Diego’s

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper100England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed Sat., Sun. & Mon. over Memorial Day weekend. Gorgeous room. Christina is friendly, informative & accomodating. Happy Anniversary card & chocolate in room! :) Unusually warm & humid weather for this time. 1st night no a/c. All windows open but couldn't sleep due to humidity & noise from people on the street till dawn. Spoke w/Christina. She apologized & had a/c installed. We used a/c to dry air & for white noise. Next 2 nights we slept well. Comfy bed. Loved the room setup (fridge, toaster, microwave, tea, coffee maker). Great soap, shampoo, towels, linen, etc. Fireplace, flat screen tv, DVD/VCR player, jacuzzi, bikes...what more can you ask for? A few dust bunnies under bakers rack came out but all in all room was clean. Sad to leave!

Room Tip: Stay 3 nights or more & receive a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhodeIslandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed in this B&B for 2 nights for the start of our fly drive honeymoon. The loft room was lovely and spacious and had the most amazing bathroom!

Didnt really see the owners over the 2 night stay but it was easy enough to get in and out with our own private entrance.

Close to all the main shops and the harbour area, 5 minutes walk to the front. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cs_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We really enjoyed out trip to Plymouth. The Auberge is located in the heart of Histroic Plymouth, which is within waking distance to everything! Each day we had breakfast at a different gem of a restaurant or bakery in Plymouth. The staff was so sweet and accomodating. We were in a wedding and the wedding was called off and back on again, leaving the bride and groom nowhere to lodge on their honeymoon during a huge Plymouth arts and crafts festival when every other hotel was booked. The Auberge came to our aid at 10 PM, cleaning and putting together a room for the wedding couple. AMazing work. The rooms was very clean and newly furnished with some great little pieces, including chaise lounge chairs and new TVs, beautiful showers with amazing pressure! A Jaccuzzin on property was a great touch as well. They actually gave us the apartment at half price rate since we had to switch rooms to accomodate our 4 night stay. I highly recommend this B&B. Only questionable part was there was no breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe4628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This B&B was everything we hoped for. The Gladstone room was charming and plush with a roman style bath that was hard to leave. The cabana and jacuzzi were also relaxing and made you feel like you were on an island. High quality bikes were provided free that we used to tour the Plymouth harbor waterfront, drink scorpion bowls at the Ming Dynasty and enjoy great seafood on the waterfront. The fish was excellent and straight off the boat. There are many excursion options like whalewatching, deep sea fishing, paddlewheel boat trips, even a pirate cruise. The Plymouth Rock and the Mayflower were interesting to see. We'll be back. Lots more to see and do in this area.

Elizabeth

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

It's a guest house, and for our visit the communication was via notes left on the hall table.
Also notices to call them if any issues via the house which never seemed to be there.

Had to get them in to clean the place as it obviously hadn't been done, which they were apologetic about, but it's not a great first impression.

Optional breakfast was via great value vouchers that seemed to mysteriously appear on a daily basis and be pushed under the door (strange, but not a problem).

Apart from the initial cleanliness issue the room was OK and very central for Plymouth and situated on a Church Parking lot which meant parking was good.

Having stayed in B+B's before the whole experience here was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.5 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Gladstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Gladstone

Address: 8 Vernon St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3915
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Gladstone 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house located in historic downtown Plymouth, MA, within walking distance to restaurants, museums, and historic sites. Apartment-like rooms with mini-kitchen amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Gladstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing