We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Away...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had booked a two-week stay at his B&B for my daughter, who was attending an all-day art's camp, and had no break for lunch, so a good breakfast was a MUST. More than several times during our stay, I found posted on our door, a sign, which said, "NO BREAKFAST TODAY. HELP YOURSELF TO CEREAL." Of course, cereal was not enough to tide my daughter over for a full day of meals, and that is NOT what we had paid for. My daughter came down with SEVERE migraines on those days. And on those days, the WHOLE house smelled like Marijuana!!! And dear Barb had her Rastafarian boyfriend over...it was very disturbing. I would NEVER reccomend this place to a friend, nor look back at this as a fond memory. Additionally, on the days that Barb DID show up for breakfast, all she did was complain about her job, and how she wished she were back in California, and how she hated polishing the silver, and, yada, yada, yada, and poor her. Someone PLEASE send this woman back to California where she belongs, smoking pot, and hanging out with the Rastas!!! She does NOT belong in the B&B industry!

Room Tip: Run away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

A girls' weekend. A lovely, historic home. Yummy breakfasts. Walking distance to antique stores, boutiques & great coffee shop. Yay, us!

What a delight to find reasonably priced accommodations in this charming 18th century house! The decor has been preserved or painstakingly restored and the furnishings are authentic without sacrificing comfort. Our hosts were warm & welcoming.

I heartily recommend The Whitfield House for couples and friends getaways.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindyHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We spent two lovely nights at the Whitfield House, Barb was a special Lady who could cook a great breakfast. Felt right at home, Everything was in walking distance. We would have walked if not for the rain. Great stay! Brian and Lyn Kilgore

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bandlkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The B&B was just what we wanted. The Blue Room was nice size and was well furnished. The bathroom was large andvery bright. The location is great as it is just a very short wall down the hill to the waterfront and all that Plymouth has to offer. Just park your car and you can walk whereever you need to go. The breakfast was first rate and Barbara and Brian are wonderful host. When we come back to Plymouth this is where we will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband & I were on a romantic vacation to the Northeast and found this B&B that accommodated our needs -- it allowed a 1 night stay. Well, now we can see why! We were there over a busy holiday weekend, yet the 2 of us were the only guests in the house!!
The decor is very OLD! I suppose they are going for a vintage, "period-style" look, but it just looks like a cheap, junky, cluttered antique store.
Our room, while it did have a queen bed & private bath, was still less-than-desirable! The house does not have A/C, so there was a large, awkward standing fan in the middle of the room for us to use. Our "window treatments" were "vintage" rugs hung over the windows that could be tied up to let the light in. (The "window treatments" were either up or down....no option for cracking the blinds to let the breeze through at all).
Breakfast left something to be desired. We had scrambled eggs, turkey bacon and toast. Nothing horrible, but this is a B&B! Every other B&B we've ever stayed at has always served a somewhat unique/gorget breakfast. Not this place! Oh, and the inns-keeper eats at the table too....we've never experienced that before!
Also to note, there are no amenities or extras- ex: a hot tub, robes, or even a common area in which to enjoy. At night, the place is pitch-black, so it's clear that you're only supposed to be in your room! There were no attention to details at this B&B as there have been at ones that we've stayed in the past, ex: snacks left our, board games, books, etc. This is clearly a poor attempt at turning an old house into a place to make some revenue off unsuspecting tourists.
But, on a different note, the price is "fair" given the location. It is a block from the rock and a block from the main downtown area. But a hotel down the street would have been $30/night cheaper and a far more comfortable & enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JagsPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

If travelling to Plymouth highly recommend this B & B, lovely historic house filled with many antiques, and Barbara was the perfect hostess, preparing really tasty breakfasts and giving lots of info on the places to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We chose to stay at this place because we wanted to visit both Boston and Cape Cod so this seemed like the right place as Plymouth is right in the middle. We arrived quite late at the B&B because of traffic but this didn't seem a problem and Barbara was really accomidating. We had the room with the double bed and the ajoining room with the twin beds. They were a decent size but, the twin room especially, was really dark even in daylight. The decor of the rooms wasn't really to our taste but if you like lots of trinkets with that olde kind of feel, then this is the place for you. Apart from the decor and the rooms being quite dark, this was a great place to stay.The beds were comfy and the bathroom was a good size. The breakfasts were wonderful and different every day and Barbara had loads of good tips on where to go, how to get the train to Boston and what good restaurants to eat at. Plymouth is a really small town and there isn't that much to do (we went to the plantation, about 2 miles up the road, which was good) but it is a nice place to walk around.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and is definately worth staying at if you want to visit Boston and Cpae cod.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mona39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitfield House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 26 North St., Plymouth, MA 02360-3311
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Whitfield House Hotel Plymouth
Whitfield House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing