We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The nicest B & B hosts I've ever met” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The nicest B & B hosts I've ever met”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

By the Sea Bed and Breakfast is a great place to stay in the Plymouth, MA area. You can't beat the location; the rooms were spotless; the price was very competitive and the hosts - Roger and Brenda were two of the nicest people I've ever done business with. They were very informative, courteous and just downright fun to talk to!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onefunfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
97
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

had booked in here for 3 nights at the end of our trip booked on the back of trip advisor reviews but then looking back realised they were not recent reviews. the location is on the front opposite the mayflower on the corner of the road. It was very noisy and we didnt sleep the first night the bed settee wich we used for our 14 yr old had a plastic cover on the matress which was thin and uncomfortable. when we came down for breakfast we were givne a voucher to go to a local cafe for breakfast which was a 10 min walk away. The owners said they hadnt been well and that was why they werenot doing breakfast suggested their advertising of this place alters as breakfasts are not served on the verandah looking over the mayflower by candlelight. we checked out as i couldnt waste another $220 a night we were paying for the governor Bradford suite. would not recommend this b+b

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardiffwaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendasil, owner at By The Sea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
the information in this review is not factual. We did not charge the rate that was quoted. We absolutely do not have a plastic cover on our sleeper. Also, it is only a two-three minute walk to the restaurant that we partner with for breakfast. We strongly believe the other twenty five reviews more acurately portray our B and B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a beautiful home, right on the waterfront overlooking the harbour. We (myself, partner and parents) stayed here for four days at the start of our 22-day ‘Grand East Coast Tour’ in June 2009.

We had the Governor Bradford Suite, which is upstairs and has a private entrance and large deck at the back of the house, as well as the normal entrance through the front door and up the stairs.

The Suite is the biggest of the three lodgings at the guest house, and is suitable for a family of four. The bedroom at the back has a double bed, TV and plenty of drawers and storage space. It has windows back (looking up the street towards Main Street) and front (looking to the sea). The sitting room before the bedroom has a sofa bed, which my parents found nice and comfortable (if a little noisy when they moved on it), a further TV and side views over to the harbour and the sea.

A separate bathroom was well stocked with towels, tissues, a hair dryer, nice toiletries, etc. Finally, the suite has a large separate full kitchen with oven, fridge, sink, utensils, coffee maker, microwave, cups, plates, etc, and table and chairs at which to sit.

The suite was well stocked with tea, coffee, coffee mate and complimentary bottles of water in the fridge. There was air conditioning in the bedroom and sitting room.

Every room was decorated lovingly with pictures and nik-naks, giving a homely feel without feeling old fashioned.

The house is beautiful lit up at night, and both the inner and outer porches are a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by.

From approx 7am, guests are invited downstairs to the porch(es) to partake in coffee/tea and wonderful slices of cake. It gives a lovely opportunity to get to know the other guests, and more importantly, to be entertained and looked after by Brenda, who is a wonderful host – always there to help, and seems genuinely interested in her guests. Roger was unfortunately mainly out-of-bounds due to illness, but we did see him a few times and he, too, is a genuinely warm person. They even kept apologising for the weather (which was pretty bad for three out of our four days there) because they always want their guests to have the very best stay. Sadly, they couldn’t really do much about that!

Each morning, after coffee and cake, we were given vouchers to go out for a hot breakfast at one of two places just a very short walk along the front or up the street. We really enjoyed this option and felt we had the best of both worlds – a pleasant start with Brenda and the other guests, followed by a hot breakfast with a decent choice of items at both places we went to.

All-in-all, despite the weather, we had a lovely stay at By the Sea and it kicked off our vacation nicely.

Up to that point, we’d never stayed in a B&B in the USA before, so didn’t quite know what to expect. Without a doubt, if you can afford to stay here, we recommend it thoroughly as the best place to stay in Plymouth due to its fabulous location and its genuinely warm and inviting hosts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The B & B itself is spotless and Roger and Brenda are delightful. It is in a great location for seeing the historical sites as well as a close proximity to Cape Cod. Our view from upstairs was fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

We loved our stay here! Everything about this B&B was perfect- you will not find a cleaner, more beautiful place! This is a great location, you can walk to many restaurants and sites (Mayflower, Plymouth Rock, downtown area, shops, etc.). We stayed here for 4 nights the beginning of June.
We really enjoyed meeting Brenda and Roger and the other couples staying there, and talking about our plans and their plans and swapping ideas. We had to drap ourselves away to get going on our days, and seriouly, we don't think of ourselves as the chatty type, but we just really had fun visiting with eveyone!
We stayed in the Mayflower suite, and loved all the windows and the view! We woke up early one morning to see the sunrise over the Mayflower and harbor! We looked at the Bradford Suite, and it is a very lovely, and big suite with a kitchen and living room, and even it's own patio, a wonderful choice, but it does not have a full wall of windows over the harbor like the Mayflower Suite, yet it is still a very big, beautiful room with a view of the harbor.
We enjoyed sitting out on the patio for a little bit one afternoon, and getting up early and sitting in the lawn chairs out front, while we sipped our hot chocolate, our last morning,and wished we could have spent more time, just being cozy here.
Everyone who walks by this house, stops to look and take a picture (and they're probably wishing they would have stayed here, too!)
We are already planning to return to this area, and will definately stay here- we will not even consider staying anywhere else, and highly recommend it.
Wonderful, Wonderful!
Thank You Brenda and Roger!
On a side note, we would recommend eating at the Blue Blinds, having an intimate dinner at Sabor, and a fun night doing the Latern Ghost Tours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEPA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

As a frequent visitor to many B&B's around the country I can honestly say this place is A-List material. If you plan on visiting Plymouth, MA this is a must stay place. The absolute best location right on the harbor..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AcelaExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for four days while on a trip to New England for our 25th wedding anniversary.

Roger and Brenda are great hosts and very helpful. Splendid views of the harbour and Mayflower II. Plymouth is a perfect base for travelling to Cape Cod and Boston.

The whale watching trip is highly recommended.

Plenty of restaurants to choose from - some are better than others.

I definitely recommend staying at By the Sea. If you do, be sure to ask about the chintzyness.

  • Liked — Location. Hospitality.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farawayferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 1620 at Plymouth Harbor
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.4 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Winslow St., Plymouth, MA 02360
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing