We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed June 20, 2008

What can you say about Brenda and Roger. Two of the most wonderful people you will meet. It is like being home away from home. We're from Utah and had been planning our trip for two years. We searched and read reviews and asked people that had been to the area where they would stay. We came across By the Sea B&B on Trip Advisor, read the reviews and visited their web site. We couldn't have picked a better place and looking back felt lucky we were able to book time. We felt completely welcome and truely enjoyed each converstation we had. Morning breakfast is a treat as you sit around on the sun porch and catch up on the past days experiences and what your plans are for the day. We stayed in the Mayflower room overlooking the bay and found at times we just enjoyed sitting on the couch looking out at the ocean and the people walking by. Comfortable and clean rooms and in the center of anything and everything that has anything to do with Plymouth. There is more than enough in town and the surrounding area to keep you busy for days. I would highly recommend By the Sea for a short or extended stay. You won't find better hosts or comfortable surroundings. Thank you Brenda and Roger for a memorable vacation. We're home sick.

  • Liked — The hosts we're wonderful.
  • Disliked — Internet connection was weak in room. So what!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bballisbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
97
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England's green and pleasant land
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Having just returned from Plymouth Mass and the By The Sea B&B, happy to update the reviews with a report of our experience over two nights in April 2008.
Travelling in a party of four from England and France, we booked direct with Brenda and Roger purely on the strength of reviews from Tripadvisor.
We were given a very good rate having booked well in advance of our stay, and The Gov Bradford And Mayflower suites.
Upon arrival we were delighted to find that the location of the property is fabulous, looking out directly onto Plymouth Harbour.
The Mayflower visible from the Mayflower Suite, which itself is to to the front of the property, with an ensuite and views to die for. The Gov Bradford is however, huge, more like an apartment with living room and kitchen, located to the side of the property. Both are on the first floor.
Brenda has an eye for putting together a very cosy home from home and both Brenda and Roger very genial and delightful hosts. Breakfasts are continental and taken on the front porch overlooking the harbour.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B wholeheartedly, and would stay again.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing we didn't like!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsenhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

My husband and I had a wonderful four night stay at By the Sea. Brenda and Roger seemed like old friends almost immediately. The home is so bright and cheerful, tastefully decorated, and the flowers and grounds are just beautiful. The breakfast was yummy, but the chats with the hosts and other visitors created warm friendships.

Our first night was in the lovely Mayflower suite with a fabulous view. The next three nights we stayed in the charming Winslow suite; very quaint and great access to the breakfast porch and outside. Since we are early risers and went for morning walks along the harbor, we loved the private entry.

You cannot beat the location! You can walk to downtown & waterfront restaurants, shopping, and many of the attractions. The Mayflower is across the street, as well as the trolley stop and the ferry to Cape Cod (we had one of the best meals at the Lobster Pot in Provincetown). We really enjoyed meals at East Bay, 14 Union, Lobster Hut, and drinks on the top floor of Cabbyshack overlooking the harbor. The only time we needed transportation was to Plymoth Plantation. However, it would also be a great central location for day trips.

We felt like pampered guests there and can’t wait to go back! I highly recommend visiting Plymouth and staying at By the Sea. Brenda & Roger’s warm and inviting home, as well as gracious hospitality, can’t be beat!

  • Liked — The location, welcoming hosts, charming home!
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CatHah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarmel1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

My husband and I were pleased to return to By the Sea B&B for our second time. Nothing had changed - Brenda and Roger are still the most wonderful hosts, the house is still beautiful and surrounding with a colourful display of flowers, the views are still spetacular and we enjoyed visiting the town again.

Just need to work out when we can plan visit number 3!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cedarmel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We had a wonderful time staying with Brenda and Roger who are the epitomy of the genial, friendly and helpful host. We stayed in the Governor Bradford suite which is really an apartment within the B&B and so you have a living room, with a pull out sofa-bed, a kitchen and of course a bedroom. We stayed for 8 nights and would have been happy to stay a lot longer. Needless to say there is much to do and see in Plymouth, which has a lot of great coffee shops, bars and restaurants all within walking distance of the B&B. Some we would recommend are the East Bar Grill, its a little pricey but the food, ambience and views are excellent. Sam Diegos good food and service in a building that is the old fire station from Plymouth converted into a Mexican style restaurant. For watching Red Sox games in the evening the atmosphere in the T-Bone pub on the high street is great. Also on a Tuesday evening in the British Beer Company bar they have a live singer belting out traditional American rock music, really good. The BBC is also a great bar, they don't serve food, just good beer and a lively atmosphere.
For the golfer two great courses within a 20 minute drive, which are an absolute must, are Pine Hills and Crosswinds. The Crosswinds is one of the toughest and best that I've played in the US, one guy who regularly drives down from Boston to play told me it was the best in Massachusetts. While I was playing golf my wife went on a chocalate tour, which she told Brenda about. If that floats your boat Brenda is now in the know.
Most surreal moment on vacation was a guest from Pennsylvannia explaining to my wife and I, both English, what Queen Elizabeth ate for breakfast. If you are reading this, sir, your company that morning was an absolute delight.
Finally a big thank you to Brenda and Roger for being such excellent hosts, I'm sure we'll be seeing you again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank des&patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Our reservation was made by e-mail to Brenda and Roger (our hosts). We were encouraged by the friendly tone of their responses, and couldn't wait for our visit.

When we arrived, our welcome was one of genuine pleasure to see us. Brenda and Roger invited us into their home - we instantly felt that we were visiting family, not paying guests! The photographs on their web site are accurate representations of the building and we were impressed with the decor and attention to detail in all the rooms. Brenda's crafting skills are evident throughout; little touches that make the difference between a house and a home.

As long-time residents of Plymouth, Brenda and Roger's advice on where to visit, dine and shop is invaluable and during our stay it was entirely appropriate for us.

Designated car parking is available on the driveway; don't worry about going out all day - the space will still be there when you return!

Our generous hosts set out breakfast on the veranda, with a wonderfully extensive view of the harbour. It was idyllic - we could have nestled there all morning! When the weather turned gloomy, breakfast was on the covered porch, equally pleasant and cosy.

Conversation with other guests flowed so well, with Brenda and Roger at the helm, that we didn't want to leave. We will have very fond memories of our all-too-short stay at By The Sea.

The only (small) minus is that the staircase is quite steep, so if your room is upstairs and you have mobility problems or large heavy suitcases, you might have difficulties. However, if you need assistance, Brenda and Roger are very helpful, without fuss or bother.

  • Liked — Location and decor
  • Disliked — Steep stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mufti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We spent four blissful nights at Brenda and Roger's warm and welcoming home. The first three nights were in the first floor Winslow Suite, which has a charming private enclosed sunporch with a view of the harbor. The sunporch opens onto the shared porch, where we enjoyed an open air breakfast each morning with the same wonderful view. The open porch leads to another enclosed porch which can be used by all the guests. Our final night was spent upstairs in the Mayflower Suite, which is an incredibly romantic room with a canopy bed, cozy seating area and a wall of windows overlooking the waterfront. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The light breakfast begins with fresh fruit and plenty of juice and coffee, with danish, pastries, specialty breads, toast, and yogurt also available.

The location is within walking distance to many historic sites, shopping and restaurants, and is just a short drive to Plimoth Plantation. We highly recommend Daniela's Cafe for lunch or dinner; they have the most mouth-watering desserts! We also enjoyed the Winslow Cafe for lunch and 14 Union on the waterfront for dinner.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at By the Sea and were very sad to leave!

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, great location, wonderful hosts!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SherylandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Plymouth
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 1620 at Plymouth Harbor
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.4 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Winslow St., Plymouth, MA 02360
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing