We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4star view to wake up to!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Brenda and Roger have a real diamond, here. Our suite, the Mayflower, was almost 180 degrees of the harbor with the boat Mayflower II right there! Waking up to that view was the BEST! The room was wonderfully clean and made up in the era of a country inn. Noise was never an issue. Parking was available on site but a little tight. Once we got there, we didn't need a car. The entire harbor and town were within an easy walk from the BB. Although breakfast wasn't available on site, there was the "jump start". A tastey coffee cake, with coffee, served on their enclosed but open to air porch. The price of the stay included vouchers for breakfast at a choice of local restaurants in town, a short walk away. We had both and was impressed with both.

Room Tip: Mayflower suite the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here one night, we were so lucky as they had had a cancellation. Location couldn't have been better. We were so lucky as they had had a cancellation. We had a room which was on the front overlooking the sea front. The hosts were so welcoming and friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

By the Sea B&B is a quaint inn located right in the heart of Plymouth. Brenda and Roger (the innkeepers) were very helpful and friendly and they keep the place spotless. Besides the location I think our favorite thing about the inn was sitting on the oceanfront porch taking in the views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showmetheearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Brenda and Roger will make you feel like family...you're home! Admittedly we visited off season and it was quiet but what a lovely spot.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trumandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Despite two rainy and windy days, we had a terrific time. It is hard to find the right adjective to adequately describe Roger and Brenda and the accommodations, because one isn't enough. They are beyond wonderful, terrific and delightful. We too have traveled much and visited many inns and B&Bs throughout the country, most of which had their own quaintness and special qualities. By the Sea however, has all of that plus more; we found it addictive. It draws you back and I think that is only partly due to the historical aspect of the area. We truly believe the hosts are the real draw. Roger and Brenda are friendly in a real, down-to-earth, genuine way and they definitely run a very clean and well kept "ship." We stayed in the Governor Bradford Suite but from what we saw, the other two rooms are also very nice indeed. We also liked the idea of breakfast vouchers to use at two local places (both excellent). This allows for variety as well as eliminating the problem of a guest not liking something that was be served by the B&B. Before heading off for the short walk to breakfast each morning, we joined our hosts and other guests, on the cozy, comfortable, enclosed porch for coffee, cake, and some wonderful conversation. We are of the habit of never returning to the same places so we can experience others. However, we are hooked and are already planning our next visits to By the Sea for 2012.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Brenda & Rodger are good hosts. Available each morning to give coffee & cake as well as helpful information and suggestions. We found them very helpful and they will find out details if they do not know themselves.
Accomodation amongst the best kept we have stayed at, being exceptional clean, freshly decorated with good quality linens. Overlooking the bay with great views every day. A number of excellent restaurants within easy walking distances.
Off road parking made it excellent to use as a base to tour the area.
Vouchers given for breakfast with the option of 2 places to eat. Blue Blind Bakery was my favourite.
Throughly enjoyed our stay and will go back when next in the area.

Room Tip: We chose this accomodation based on others reviews and was not disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbeamimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our tour of New England. Everything about the place was all we had hoped for, the perfect spot to begin to relax after the pace of New York City. The Govenor Bradford Suite was immaculately presented and very comfortable. Breakfast options of 2 local cafes, both within 5 mins walk worked really well. We tried both and both were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewP_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
0.3 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
778 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#9 of 9 in Plymouth
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Winslow St., Plymouth, MA 02360
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $130 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing