We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plimoth Grist Mill

Plimoth Grist Mill
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
Ranked #9 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Grist Mill is a restored and fully functioning grist mill located on Town Brook in Plymouth, Massachusetts, only a few minutes away from Mayflower II and the waterfront. The mill is a reproduction of the 1636 mill built by the Pilgrims in Plimoth Colony, and construction was completed in 1970. The mill runs on Saturdays and Wednesdays from noon to 3 pm, where you can see our miller grin corn into cornmeal. On non-milling days, let our tour guides show you around and explain the history of the mill from 1636 onwards, discussing the effects local industry had on the environment as well as the steps being taken to preserve the ecology of the Town Brook area today.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Mill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The mill was in need of a part and not working when we arrived but that didn't lessen the enjoyment it provided. Mike our interpreter was extremely knowledgeable and gave lots of details. It may have been broken but the tour guides knew a great deal and were willing to spend time answering questions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2014Travelinghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    69
    38
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spring break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Combined this part of the museum with the plantation and the MayflowerII. This is one of the many grist mills we've ever toured so it was much of the same but it was a well run, comprehensive tour. The guides explained how this grist mill relates to the land of Plymouth. We didn't invest much time here but it was well worth our time just the same. Lovely location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eji358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A small mill where you can buy real corn meal ground on site. It's a wonderful bit of history for children to see how the early settlers made their dietary staple.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank capegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
565 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“A bit of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed a tour of this property which is in a lovely garden setting. The watermill was still working and there is a nice cafe attached. Its a lovely spot to take children and watch the ducks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really a great learning experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The mill is fascinating. Not only can you see the whole mill operating, but you can understand the minute details with the scale model on hand. You can also sift corn and evening grind it with a pestle and mortar if you want! The staff are super knowledgeable and I look forward to going back again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Grist Mill also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Grist Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing