We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grist mill and well maintained area”
Review of Plimoth Grist Mill

Plimoth Grist Mill
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
More Info
$625.20*
and up
Private Day Trip From Boston to Plimoth Plantation
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Plymouth and Newport from Boston
Ranked #10 of 70 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Grist Mill is a restored and fully functioning grist mill located on Town Brook in Plymouth, Massachusetts, only a few minutes away from Mayflower II and the waterfront. The mill is a reproduction of the 1636 mill built by the Pilgrims in Plimoth Colony, and construction was completed in 1970. The mill runs on Saturdays and Wednesdays from noon to 3 pm, where you can see our miller grin corn into cornmeal. On non-milling days, let our tour guides show you around and explain the history of the mill from 1636 onwards, discussing the effects local industry had on the environment as well as the steps being taken to preserve the ecology of the Town Brook area today.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice grist mill and well maintained area”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was not a highlight of our time. We appreciated so many other experiences while in the town so this was just an add-on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    79
    41
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you like this type of thing”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I have seen a number of mills but this the first time I saw one running. The staff was friendly and very knowledgable about the mill. The area with the fall colors was just beautiful. A staff member also took the time to tell us to check out the local cranberry bogs. They said they only run the mill about 8 hours each week....so we just lucked out getting there at the right time

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcoy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not All That Interestng”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

From what I understand, the only thing original about this attraction is the site it's built on. The building is not original but rather a more modern construction and the mill itself is not near as large as other actual historic mills we have toured (they were not even milling the day we were there), it seems more of the space in the building is taken up by their gift shop and other non-related onsite businesses.

If you have never seen a grist mill or you're in the area and feel the need then I suppose it might be ok but as an attraction it's not that great. For us, it was included in the admission price for the Plantation so figured we might as well get our money's worth out of it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank biker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, PEI
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's A Small World”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Mill was quite interesting to learn about the highlight was the tour guide Mike who by coincidence spends time in Prince Edward Island yearly where we are from and who's wife is from the same small town in Massachusetts where the friends who we were visiting with live

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice little place to learn about history”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A nice stop if you've never been to a grist mill before. Unfortunately, the clutch for the mill is broken (something I only discovered AFTER I bought the $6/pp tour tickets), and so there was no cornmeal for sale. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about history and provided us with many fun facts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jotrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Grist Mill also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Grist Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing