We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for fresh seafood lunch!”
Review of The Shanty Rose

The Shanty Rose
Ranked #48 of 207 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: 508-746-rose
Restaurant details
Description: 508-746-rose
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for fresh seafood lunch!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

While on our family vacation in Plymouth, our daughter was on the hunt for good, fresh oysters. We stumbled upon Shanty Rose, the perfect lunch spot on Plymouth Harbor! If the delicious raw oysters weren't enough, they had a whole-lobster special which our kids experienced and loved! We had the fresh crab cakes and fish & chips which were also delicious. Our server was so friendly and gave us lots of tips about the area. This lunch at Shanty Rose was one of the best deal and most fun of our trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Friendly and cheap”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If that sounds like a good lunch stop to you, try The Shanty Rose. We took the family, including both mother-in-laws because the sign stated $10.99 Lobster dinner. Two out of three got the lobster, but they ran out, so I got the fish n' chips. All was good and well prepared. My son enjoyed the scallops and my M-I-L enjoyed the clam chowder. Everything but the lobsters and chowder was fried so not a place we would eat often, but it was a nice treat for a day of walking around Plymouth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just loved everything about this small unpretentious place from the barman Rick, to the friendly customers to the good food. Hubbie had the crab and sausage gumbo made by Rose, fabulous, I had the clam chowder - one of the best in boston area during our trip. Thoroughly recommend it!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No pretense, just good”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Solid, solid place. In the middle if touristville, right on Plymouth Harbor, sits this little gem.
Ate at the bar, looking out on the boats, and ate one of the tastiest, freshest fried scallop rolls I have ever eaten.
Homemade onion rings on the side, lightly-breaded.
Solo guy with an acoustic guitar did a good job.
No frills place, not a hipster scene. Just real & real good.
Did I mention the fried scallops?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BruinsPatsSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Horse Beach, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“downhill fast”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went to the Shanty Rose with 2 friends, at their recommendation. Both had been there last year and said food was good. We ordered drinks and got large beer sized glasses of vodka drinks, so far so good! Then we ordered dinner, my friend ordered scrod and asked about the veggie and was told they had no veggie, however she could get the chicken noodle soup instead? WHAT, with fish??? My other dinner mate ordered steak tips, was never asked how she wanted them cooked and I ordered the lobster roll. Lobster roll was fine, how can you screw that up, fish came out fried, and was refused and sent back, she ordered broiled. Steak tips had half a bottle of cold teriyaki sauce poured on them. When the fish finally arrived, it was very under cooked and inedible. I will not return, very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danijebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanty Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Shanty Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing