We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a choice?”

The Driftwood Publick House
Ranked #34 of 207 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, German, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The Driftwood Publick House offers a variety of in-house quality food and boasts the best selection of beer, wine and spirits from around the world; located in the heart of downtown Plymouth, MA
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Want a choice?”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Great place to spend an hour or two when looking for something different in beer and food? Knowledgeable staff...friendly and helpful when asking for some suggestions...The beer menu is constantly changing to bring in New interesting choices..the food menu is really interesting and one can always find something to enjoy..(gotta try the pretzel of the day!)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jnctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    54
    17
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fun place to drink and dine!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We moved to Plymouth Ma approximately a year and a half ago and have been making it a point to try new places to eat and drink whenever possible. Last night it was off to the Driftwood Publick House, located downtown Plymouth on Court Street. Have been reading great reviews of this establishment for a while so made it a point to give it a try. As it tends to get busy downtown during the summer months(July) we went for any early dinner arriving a little bit before 6. We knew it was going to be a good meal when we found a street parking place right outside the pub! Once inside we were immediately greeted by the bartender and advised to sit where we wanted. It is a small place with a nice sized bar on one side of the space and high tops scattered on the other side with two nice booth areas in the two front windows that allow for great people watching. The seats are old church pews! It has a authentic Irish/English public house feel with local artwork from local painters on the walls(for sale of course) The staff is extremely friendly, Jen, our waitress, was extremely helpful in telling us about all items on the menu. Their claim to fame is a large, stuffed, soft pretzel! Their "go to" is their Philly Cheesesteak stuffed pretzel. It is stuffed with shredded beef, melted cheese, and sauted onions! Its listed with the appetizers but don't be fooled, it is very large! We made the mistake of having one each and took half home. It can easily be split for a group of 4. It was delicious! It came with a spicy dipping sauce. My wife ordered their French fries which, again, could easily feed a small group. Their take are thin strips of potato mixed with zucchini, parmesan cheese and onions, drizzled with oil. OUTSTANDING! I also ordered one of their nightly special appetizers; the Scotch eggs. These are hard boiled eggs wrapped in chorizo and bread crumbs then fried. Theirs were some of the best I've had. I also tried an 8 piece order of their Wellfleet oysters on the half shell as they had just brought them in. Perfectly shucked and sweet!
Now, what would a publick house be without beer? If you like beer then please make your way to the Driftwood. Their beer menu(yes, they have a completely separate menu just for beer, what does that tell you about how serious they are?) is divided up by Pilsners, Ales, Stouts, IPA, etc. and nowhere will you find a large chain beer, either on tap or in cans or bottles. If you want a Miller lite go somewhere else. If you want to try REAL Beer, visit the Driftwood!
Plus the atmosphere is really fun! Ladies, if you like men with beards, two of the staff(including the owner) have beards to be proud of, plus, when it gets busy, you can readily spot them!
If your looking for a good time, whether dining or drinking or both, stop by the Driftwood Publik House. You won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Thought it was going to be a typical brew pub but the food selections were great. Several things I could have tried on the menu. Had the sweet potato skins with bleu cheese and duck confit which was excellent. The clams steamed in ale with chorizo were excellent. Wish I could have tried the stuffed pretzels.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RoBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink and something to eat”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We visited here late July after a spot of whale watching, and it was a good place to relax and have a drink and a bite to eat after!

I've been wanting to try calamari for ages, and thought I'd give it a go here. Delicious! I would definitely get it again, I loved the sauce that came with it. My wife got the Diftwood burger which she liked too. The drinks selection is pretty good too, plenty to choose from!

I kind of wish they offered a little more food options on the menu, but what they do have is very nice!

Would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newenglanderofold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent valur”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The dishes are really good. It is a little dark inside, but the interior is OK. The waitress is very friendly. I'd recommend it to my best friend.

Helpful?
Thank jndewulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Driftwood Publick House also viewed

 

Been to The Driftwood Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing