We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places for food/beverage in Plymouth”

The Driftwood Publick House
Ranked #38 of 207 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, German, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The Driftwood Publick House offers a variety of in-house quality food and boasts the best selection of beer, wine and spirits from around the world; located in the heart of downtown Plymouth, MA
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best places for food/beverage in Plymouth”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Driftwood just keeps getting better! They have a full bar but their specialty is the beer on tap. Lots of great selections that are constantly rotating. The chef is extremely creative, the menu keeps changing and is always tempting. When you walk in it looks like any neighborhood, friendly pub, which it definitely is. But don't be fooled. It's much more than that. The food is a really amazing! Appetizers, snacks, entrees, salads and desserts. They also have music at the Sunday Brunch and other events to keep you coming back. Not to be overlooked is the staff. Always friendly and helpful!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CB_Plimoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    54
    17
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“So good, I wish I lived in Massachusetts so I could eat here again!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stopped here thanks to tripadvisor reviews on our way to Cape Cod from Boston. Everything we ordered was amazing, and the blue fried corn calamari was to die for. There aren't that many tables, so make sure you get there early. Also, be sure to hear the specials before deciding on what to order. Our waiter was awesome. This will be a new "must go to" destination on future trips to the Cape.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwissMiss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor reviews are right on”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We would never have found this place without the reviewers who so enthusiastically recommended it. All the raves are well deserved. What a fun place with creative, delicious food and a friendly atmosphere too. Get away from the tourist places and eat well here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paprikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great stop!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Going to or from Cape Cod we always stop in Plymouth to check out what's new in "America's Hometown". To our pleasant surprise we just visited a new and wonderful spot, the Driftwood Publick House. They have a terrific selection of craft beer on tap with very knowledgeable staff to help out in your selection(s) and the food is way, way above the typical pub fare that we too often find. My wife had the chicken salad sandwich that she said was top notch and my shrimp and chicken etoufee was as good, or better, than any that I've had in New Orleans! The Ballast Point "Sculpin IPA" from San Diego was a surperb brew to have with our late lunch. We'll be back!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my most enjoyable meals ever!!! A lot of thought/effort went into this menu!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Based on other reviews, gave Driftwoods a try as we were driving through the area. Soooo glad we did! Walked in & was a tiny bit worried we brought our kids (8&5) to a dive bar & would have to eat bar food. Thankfully 1st impression was way off!
Waitress was sooo genuinely friendly!The menu was full of creative fun choices. We asked about simpler options for kids (no kids menu). She happily offered to have the chef make burgers, pizza, pasta to order.
I had shepherds pie w/ braised short ribs, puréed potatoes, arugula,root veggies. Im a bit of a foodie & not impressed with generic/mass produced food. This dish made my day and my "top 10 meals Ever"! Hubby had skirt steak w/ chimmichurri-sooooo tender!
What a wonderful meal& service all around! I'm still grinning 3 hours later! Go!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JollyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Driftwood Publick House also viewed

 

Been to The Driftwood Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing