We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First plymouth miss”
Review of Ernie's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Ernie's Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First plymouth miss”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were very disappointed in this very old established restuarant. Firs the waitress did not inform us of the two for one specials, the uniforms on the waiters and waitress were all black with the Ernie's logo on them but they all seems less than clean.. It might be just the color black picking up everything ( that color does not really hide the smudges). We ordered two fish entrees and they were both bland to the point of I "I don't think I am hungry any more" It was very busy... so I think we did just miss what others were experiencing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having lived in the area most of our lives so far and frequenters of Plymouth restaurants we finally decided to give Ernie's a try. We have driven by for years and wish we had done the same again. When we sat at the traffic lights in front of the building those inside looked like they were enjoying fine dining. Oh for the days gone by. The inside was tired. Looked more like a large, low cost, family style restaurant. That was OK. It is clean and we were promptly seated.
I ordered broiled scrod. Scrod is supposed to be either young haddock or young codfish. What I got was neither. Not really sure what it was but it was tough and tasteless. It was certainly not fresh. The clam chowder was good. My wife had fish and chips and said that it was OK. Sorry Ernie's, you're off our list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcwdz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Have Had Better”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

In Plymouth, you would think the seafood would be really good. Not here! The only dishes I would order in the future would be pizza, but I don't think I'll be back again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mecasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Freindly”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Early dinner with great grandmother, grandmother, mother and 3 children (6-4-3). The staff was most accommodation. Promptly brought children's meal and were spot onwith special request. Food was fresh. Not a large selection but everyone got a meal they enjoyed. Early bird special before 5 PM. Definely will be repeat customer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Godspeed-safely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere for Christmas”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have gone twice around Christmas time with family to eat, both times were very good food. I definately will be going again this Christmas. The decor was great. They had santa legs and boots coming out of the fireplace in the dining area, with what looks like a painting on the wall wrapped as a present, lighted Christmas tree and wreaths.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 246Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing