We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thought Provoking Tour”

Native Plymouth Tours
Ranked #9 of 25 Tours in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first organized walking tours of historical downtown Plymouth, Massachusetts presented through the eyes and perspective of Native American Guides. Have fun learning the shared history of the Wampanoag and the Pilgrims in an enlightening and educational manner.
Camden NY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Thought Provoking Tour”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On Sept. 10, a group of 6 retired teachers took the Native Plymouth Tour. It was excellent! Needless to say, learning about Plymouth from the Native American viewpoint is quite thought provoking and something that everyone should experience - the other side of the Pilgrim story!! Tim's obvious knowledge of and passion for the early history of Plymouth combined with his relaxed style makes this tour a must. The walk around the town took 2 hours. We saw and learned interesting facts about so many things that we would have just walked past if on our own.
Take this tour!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TTM489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“honest injun”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like a previous reviewer we had Tim to ourselves. I don' know why this thour is not more frequented as it was totally fascinating. Essentially we wentr from the waterfront, upo one street, through a park and down another back the the waterfront. This encapsulated much of Plymouths's early history and tookj about 2 and a quarter hours. although advertised at 1/1/2 hours Tim will take as much time as neceessary. Tim will point out buildings, monuments and relate incidents and chronology of the early settlement putting to bed certain prevailing myths about relationships between the natives and the settlers. Well worth 15$ per person

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Native American tour of Plymouth”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My friend who is very interested in history joined me on the tour and we were fortunate to have Tim to ourselves. We learned a lot, architecture and plant lore as well as the history piece. Very good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best tour in Plymouth from a native viewpoint.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have taken this tour a couple of times with TIm because:
a) I need as much info as possible about the Wampanoags for my volunteer position as a docent at Plimoth Plantation Museum.
b) He clearly knows the history of the Pilgrims interaction with the natives in the 17th century. He shows the exact location of the pilgrims, the Hobomock homesite and interesting sidelights of the period that you would not read about.

Native Plymouth Tours gives accurate information that would take hours to research from original sources.

If you want a guided tour of the waterfront as it existed in the 17th century, this is the one to take.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

You spend between one and a half and two hours walking Plymouth and seeing it from the perspective of the native Americans. Not surprisingly, you get a very different take on history from the 1620s. It is fascinating and highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soltryyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Plymouth Tours also viewed

 

Been to Native Plymouth Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing