We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and entertaining guide!”

Native Plymouth Tours
Ranked #9 of 25 Tours in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first organized walking tours of historical downtown Plymouth, Massachusetts presented through the eyes and perspective of Native American Guides. Have fun learning the shared history of the Wampanoag and the Pilgrims in an enlightening and educational manner.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Informative and entertaining guide!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

In looking through the eyes of a Native American Indian, the landing of the pilgrims on the shores of Plymouth, came alive. Very informative. Very interesting. Very glad we got to see Plymouth up close and personal. Thanks Tim for giving us the royal treatment!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Insightful, thought-provoking and enlightening”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I spent an amazing 2 hours with Tim, a native Wampanoag who gave us a potted history of the Plymouth area from a native perspective. The information was frank, interesting, educational, enjoyable although occasionally. However, Tim speaks with absolute authority in an articulate and easily digestible manner and highlighted many things of interest that the casual observer would certainly miss. For us, his tour rounded off a fabulous vacation in New England. Do yourself a favour and go on the tour!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This tour of Plymouth was so informative and enlightening. In under two hours we were given an authentic and well-informed look at the true history of the colonization of America. Tim Turner's knowledge and perspective was invaluable to the understanding of how life truly was and is for Native Americans in this country. In addition, local architechture and the beautiful flora of the area were shown and discussed. I was fascinated by Tim's insights, and appreciated the time he took to answer our questions and satisfy our curiosity. This tour was a highlight of our vacation, and I highly recommend it to everyone visiting the Plymouth area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Endlessly Fascinating - A must!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Tim was a fantastic tour guide - He was charismatic, insightful, and highly knowledgeable about Plymouth, the Wampanoag Tribe, and early Colonial history. Seeing the sites of Plymouth from the perspectives of the Native Americans was refreshing and incredibly interesting. As a former 4th grade teacher who taught a unit on Plymouth each year, I found the juxtaposition of viewpoint integral in understanding our country's beginnings. I highly recommend this tour!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enlightening, educational and entertaining”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a great tour with Tim. He gave us a very enlightening and educational tour of historic Plymouth. He explained the history of the area with a perspective that shed light on a chapter of American history that is so important to understand. The tour also included insights on plant life, architecture , as well as restaurant recommendations! Our 16 year old teenager was captivated by Tim and his recollections of American history! The sighting of the huge turtle in the pond near the Namasket trail was an added delight! Thank you for a great tour!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Plymouth Tours also viewed

 

Been to Native Plymouth Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing