We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meet the Pilgrims and the Wampanoags”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plimoth Plantation

Plimoth Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Plantation, less than an hour south of Boston and minutes from Cape Cod, is a living museum dedicated to telling the history of Plymouth Colony from the perspective of both the Pilgrims and the Native Wampanoag people. The museum is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate that includes Mayflower II, a full-scale reproduction of the original ship that sailed to Plymouth in 1620. Visit our Craft Center and Plimoth Bread Company. Enjoy independent films at Plimoth Cinema.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meet the Pilgrims and the Wampanoags”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Plantation is a wonderful place to experience what life was like for the Pilgrims in the 1620's. It can be dusty and crowded, but worth taking the time. A good place for children to see what life was like before electricity and video games. It is very well-kept, and the characters (actors) are well-versed in who they are. The Plantation grounds and modern buildings are lovely and are air-conditioned for relief on hot days. Be warned - there are apt to be lots of children, depending on the time of day, as well as the time of year. Don't forget to visit the Mayflower II and Plymouth Rock down on the waterfront, as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kgsowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    494
    176
    60
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
180 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Day at the Plantation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was a bit disappointed in the overall experience today. My experience was probably greatly influenced by the abundance of children taking a field trip. It was difficult to have access to the interpreters. The site is small because it is a replica of the actual village which also would have been small. The Native American Village looked like it had great potential for one to break some of the stereotypes that we all may have, but they were so overwhelmed with kids that we didn't spend much time with them. When in the village, some of the interpreters had a good handle on a way to answer questions in character, but often the answers were very vague. Having recently been to two other living history museums recently, I was disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good, but crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Plimoth Plantation was interesting but not as good as I would have hoped. The day we were there there were several school groups visiting as well so there were a lot of little kids running around everywhere. The site and structures are very authentically created so they are very interesting to see. The people/actors that are in the plantation stay in character so it's hard to learn much from them. There are no plaques or written information anywhere so they only way to learn anything is to ask the actors lots of questions and know what questions to ask. I thought there was so much more we could have learned. The Native American site that was there was good as the people in that site are actual Native Americans and we learned a lot more from them. Overall, it the Plimoth Plantation was interesting but not my favorite thing we visited while in the area.


We visited the Mayflower replica a few miles away in Plymouth and enjoyed it much more. Very informative and less crowded.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucky_3_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Happy Thanksgiving from Plimouth Plantation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited Plimouth Plantation the week before Thanksgiving week. $26 is a little pricy but understand the need to keep up those sort of attractions. A nice experience - take the river walk path between the Native Americana village and the 17th century English village.

All role players were excellent and the rest of the staff was VERY nice and helpful. Got a great restaurant recommendation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WiWeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an entertaining way to learn about history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had a great day at Plimouth Plantation. It was great to hear the native Americans tell about their culture. The Pilgrim village was made you feel like you were swept back to 1620. We also had "Thanksgiving" dinner with the Pilgrims that evening in the Visitors Center. Quite the treat. Overall, it was a great experience

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dge74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing