We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plimoth Plantation

Plimoth Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Plantation, less than an hour south of Boston and minutes from Cape Cod, is a living museum dedicated to telling the history of Plymouth Colony from the perspective of both the Pilgrims and the Native Wampanoag people. The museum is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate that includes Mayflower II, a full-scale reproduction of the original ship that sailed to Plymouth in 1620. Visit our Craft Center and Plimoth Bread Company. Enjoy independent films at Plimoth Cinema.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The centre provides a detailed and fascinating history of both the native Americans and the English settlers

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    494
    176
    60
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A little like Williamsburg but on a smaller scale. The Wampanoag Village was very interesting, too. People in period dress were able to fill in history and answer questions. Both the native speakers and period actors were very knowledgeable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 910Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quite interesting but could be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We first of all liked the Indian Wapanoag village best. The actors told interesting stories about their "lives" and how they schulptured wooden boats and hunting equipment. For the children it was the most interesting part of the historical trip (maybe due to the fact that in Germany you will not see many historical "Indian" settings). The other historical cabins and surrondings were ok but not as "fascinating".

We enjoyed talking to two actors who explained to our boys how rifles of the time had been used and we had a nice "discussion" with an actress who asked us by which "vessel" we came from Europe. She also was well informed about the historic development at that time in Europe, which made our conversation very "real".

Nevertheless, the whole village seemed to be a little "deserted", questioning the price/value relationship.

Maybe the management should invest more money in the number of people (actors), historical scenes (maybe a battle/negogiation scene as we have seen at a castle in France) and the historical setting instead of putting it into the (too big ) visitor centre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael187286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“fantastic historical tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a fantastic trip back to 1627, don't be shy about talking to the pilgrims (obviously actors but in character all the time) they have wonderful stories to tell. We asked about toilet faciities and marriage and the answers were hilarious. Make a trek to see this as it's 10 minutes by car and you won't be disapointed

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The museum has been set out in a large area with easy walks between exhibits. The first area we came to was the Wapanoag Indians. The actors recreating the way in which the Indians lived were amazing. They were very knowledgeable and answered all questions. To have the village 'brought to life' in this way is great. Then we went to the recreation of Plymouth. The village was great. Being able to go into the houses and talk to the actors was amazing. The actors were well into character and you really believe you are talking to someone from the past. The craft centre was also very interesting being able to see a carpenter making a nice piece of furniture was good. This is a wonderful museum providing a 'living' theme throughout. Would recommend a visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pdsfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing