We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite part of trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plimoth Plantation

Plimoth Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Plantation, less than an hour south of Boston and minutes from Cape Cod, is a living museum dedicated to telling the history of Plymouth Colony from the perspective of both the Pilgrims and the Native Wampanoag people. The museum is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate that includes Mayflower II, a full-scale reproduction of the original ship that sailed to Plymouth in 1620. Visit our Craft Center and Plimoth Bread Company. Enjoy independent films at Plimoth Cinema.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Favorite part of trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in NE for 11 days and this was our favorite part of the trip, along with the Mayflower II. You can buy a combo ticket for the two attractions and save a little money, but they have to be used on the same or consecutive days. To get around this, buy a ticket for one, save your receipt and when you go to the other attraction later in the week, show your receipt and ask for an upgrade to a combo ticket. The helpful ticket seller gave us this tip and it worked like she said it would.

In the first part of Plimoth Plantation, we interacted with the native people and asked them questions about the past or present. They've built huts, lodges, and boats using the same techniques that their ancestors used in the 1600's. Moving on from there, we traveled up the road to the Pilgrims' settlement where there are homes and others buildings set up as they would have been during the 1600's. Here, the Pilgrims stay in character the whole time. They told us about their daily lives, about their voyage over on the Mayflower, or about anything we could think to ask them, but they won't step out of character to answer present day questions. It was all very interesting, fun, and engaging. This was truly the best done re-enactment that we've ever experienced. Learning things from the native peoples' perspective really made us stop and think...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank retired-luvnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    494
    176
    60
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carver, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“17th century living”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you're really interested in 17th century colonial history, then a visit to Plimoth Plantation is a must.
The Hobbomock Homesite is a recreation of a Wampanoag home, with native American dressed in period regalia. Unlike the English village, the staff discuss Wampanoag history, both past and present.
The English Village is an accurate replica of Plimoth Colony in 1627. Role players take on the character of a real person who was in Plimoth in 1627. These men and women conduct the day to day activities of the period, using the tools,clothing,food, and language of the time.
The Mayflower, located in Plymouth harbor, is a working, sea worthy replica of the ship that carried the pilgrims to the new world in 1620. Like the village, there are role players aboard who portray
Passengers and crew from the original voyage.
Any visit to historical Plymouth should include Plimoth Plantation as well as the many other historical sites in town

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ryesbeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our interactions with the actors in period costume and character that at times we thought we were in some kind of time warp and we had opportunity to really talk to the Pilgrims in 1627. They were very knowledgable and had the role down pat right to the accents and words of the time. We really enjoyed our afternoon there - a highlight of the trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting history film, pleasant experience, nice gift shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Knowledgeable villagers in character, talk and demonstrate skills. Nature walk and beautiful scenery

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peaches18G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Any visit to Plymouth, the Mayflower has to be accompanied by a visit to the 'Plantation'. This is an accurate replica of the first settler village with characters depicting original settlers occupying some of the buildings and conducting the day to day activities of the time and using language from that time also. We especially enjoyed the visit to the 'native people' settlement where authentic native people spoke about their history and traditions and how they interacted with the early settlers. Be mindful of the guidelines regarding how best to interact with these people to avoid any risk of insensitivity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing