We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically accurate”
Review of Plimoth Plantation

Plimoth Plantation
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Plantation, less than an hour south of Boston and minutes from Cape Cod, is a living museum dedicated to telling the history of Plymouth Colony from the perspective of both the Pilgrims and the Native Wampanoag people. The museum is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate that includes Mayflower II, a full-scale reproduction of the original ship that sailed to Plymouth in 1620. Visit our Craft Center and Plimoth Bread Company. Enjoy independent films at Plimoth Cinema.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historically accurate”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a very well done attraction. We liked it better than Williamsburg. It is very authentic, doesn't have the "touristy" feel, and gives a good sense of the settlement. The informative film in the visitor center told a lot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CARWestLaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,021
    508
    183
    64
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good but .........”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Paying was quite slow, each person was being given a map and directions but unfortunately in our queue the visitor in front of us was determined to share her experiences of other attractions with the cashier which held up the queue for about five minutes. Having got our tickets we went through to watch the orientation film which was very informative. We then made our way to the Native American village where we found out a lot of interesting information about how life had been. Continuing on to the Pilgrim village was not a disappointment, the re-enactor we spoke to was excellent she stayed in character the whole time, it was wonderful. Then it went down hill, we wanted to get a cup of tea and perhaps a snack, we were told that we might be "unlucky" as they were quite "sharp" about closing. When we asked someone who was moving tables they said there was no hot food but we might be lucky to get something cold. We managed to get a cup of tea, not with much charm, but drank it while they were moving the chairs around us. Onto the gift shop, when I wanted to pay the woman at the checkout was cashing up, even though there was one and half hours before the shop closed, she didn't even have the courtesy to speak to me just pointed to the other till. The attitude of the staff was unpleasant and dismissive. Sad that it spoilt what had been an excellent visit until that point.

Helpful?
Thank Generally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is definitely a don't-miss attraction. It is very well done, and we really enjoyed walking through the Native village and Plymouth village, and interacting with the people. It really gives you a feeling for what our ancestors experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reconstructed Village”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A pretty interesting spot. Reconstruction of the original Plymouth village. A little repetitive and maybe a bit commercial but a great spot to show your kids how soft they really have it today. Don't miss the indian village.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank VetteGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth it!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I had my doubts due to the price of admission. But, it was totally worth it. Very educational and lots of fun. Staff was super friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Travelingbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing