We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A village reconstruction or an amusement park?”
Review of Plimoth Plantation

Plimoth Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Plymouth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston
More Info
$625.20*
and up
Private Day Trip From Boston to Plimoth Plantation
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Plantation, less than an hour south of Boston and 15 minutes from Cape Cod, is a living museum dedicated to telling the history of Plymouth Colony from the perspective of both the Pilgrims and the Native Wampanoag people. The museum, a Smithsonian Affiliate, features the 17th-Century English Village, Wampanoag Homesite, Craft Center, Plimoth Grist Mill and new waterfront exhibit "Should I Stay Or Should I Go?" Enjoy independent films at Plimoth Cinema and local produce & goods at the weekly Plymouth Farmers' Market. Please note that Mayflower II, our iconic full-scale reproduction of the original ship that sailed to Plymouth in 1620, is currently undergoing restoration. She will return to Plymouth Harbor in 2019. Visit our website for more on this exciting project!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A village reconstruction or an amusement park?”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I thought this could be the good occasion to understand more about pilgrims fathers and the area history; at the end we approached in a park like being in Walt disney's park in orlando. We enjoyed but we founded something deeply different from what we expected. It's probably ok if you go there with chiildren in order to have them playing witha piece of history....

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank RunningA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    533
    195
    70
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lots of fun but big kids will compare to a school field trip”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We went with our two teenage daughters and my brother's family including two little ones (2 and 5). We had a very good time. Very similar to Jamestown/Williamsburg.

In order to get the most out of your visit interact with the staff. They have a native american village and a "Pilgrim" town. We got into some very interesting conversations with the staff who play the role of "Englishman" or Wampanoag. The two towns are in a constant state of activity as they build structures, tend the garden, cook and generally do what people did back then.

The little kids had fun taking in all the sights, adults enjoyed the interaction, but the teenagers thought it was more like a school field trip.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank norwegianblue_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“This easily could be a five star attraction but not quite yet”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

With a little bit of effort this could easily be a five star attraction. We began our tour in the visitor's center static museum as this is where you get tickets and head towards the "living" displays. We were a bit disappointed by the museum. They seem to put more emphasis on the "bad" aspects of Europeans coming to North America than on the good. After visiting the inside museum displays we headed to the living displays. The trail took us first to the what they term the native (aka Indian) area. This area is what needs improvement. There were a few "actors" here living in native settings. However, they did not act like natives from the 17th century. Yes, they were dressed in period costume. But, they did not engage visitors. They did not stay "in character". They wore modern jewelry, had modern tattoos, and did not talk about their 17th century lifestyle. They answered questions with simple statements and did not try to engage visitors. We spent very little time here and at this point were quite disappointed. We wondered what had paid $100 for. Next came the "pilgrim" settlement. This area is done right. The actors are "in character" all the time. They do not come out of character for anything. They spoke in 17th century terms. They not only answered questions but spoke ad hock about life in the settlement. We encountered 6-10 actors and all of them were engaging and had impressive knowledge. We spent a significant amount of time here learning about life in the settlement. After this we visited the craftsman workshop and those at work did a nice job explaining how they make things used in the settlement. Even though the native area needs work the plantation is worth a visit. Hopefully the management will work to improve the native area. If they do, they will have a five star attraction.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_from_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very Interesting -- Don't Hurry”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Reading some of the reviews of Plimoth Plantation, I wasn't sure whether it was too commercial or too hokey for our tastes. But everyone said you had to go there. You really do! It is very well done. We spent 2-1/2 hours, and could have stayed longer if we didn't have a plane to catch. The native people and the colonial "characters" added so much to the experience. We came away with a much better appreciation of what life was like in colonial Plimoth (and what it had been like before the Pilgrims arrived).

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little disappointing for the price”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Perhaps it was because we went on a very hot summer day and the "inhabitants" were equally tired, but we were disappointed with the lack of interaction at the pilgrim village. We saw less than 5 "locals" engaging with the guests. In the smaller Wampanoag village the locals were more conversant it seemed. It was an interesting visit and we certainly learned a lot, but much of it came from watching the introductory movie. The visit to the Mayflower II was also enjoyable and educational. The $29.50 for the combination ticket is pretty steep in my opinion however. The John Adams tour in Quincy is a very good alternative. Mid week is probably a good time to avoid the crowds, but we found the place to be over run with local summer camp kids, not many of which seemed to do much learning...... Not Plimoth Plantation's fault however, just a heads up.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNavigator69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing