We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we hoped for”
Review of Plimoth Plantation

Plimoth Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Admission to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II and Plimoth Grist Mill
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plimoth Plantation, less than an hour south of Boston and minutes from Cape Cod, is a living museum dedicated to telling the history of Plymouth Colony from the perspective of both the Pilgrims and the Native Wampanoag people. The museum is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate that includes Mayflower II, a full-scale reproduction of the original ship that sailed to Plymouth in 1620. Visit our Craft Center and Plimoth Bread Company. Enjoy independent films at Plimoth Cinema.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what we hoped for”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Pros - overall property laid out well. Knowledgable staff representing Wampanoag Indians.
Cons - very limited staff in all sections of property. Very limited hands on demonstrations of occupations, skills, life in the time frame.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank gigismommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,021
    508
    183
    64
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Some things are better some not so.”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Not the same Plimoth Plantation from 20 years ago. The Native portion of the museum was very interesting and informative. My 8 year old grandson had many questions and got good answers from those that were at each of the areas. The Pilgrim portion was all the same old buildings with very few Pilgrims on hand. I noticed that the family names on the houses were no longer there and it was not very interesting. Overall it was a once in your childhood place to visit and we did get a couple of good books that will explain the colonization and interaction with the Natives to him much better than the museum itself

Helpful?
Thank Redwing227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Living History Museum...well done and thoughtful”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

After reading some of the reviews here, I wasn't sure what we'd make of this museum. Admission is considerable and the reviews seemed mixed. Looking back, I'm glad that we made the effort to press ahead and go because it was a thoughtful and worthwhile experience.

I think different people have different enjoyment levels of the Plimoth Plantation because of their different comfort levels of engaging the actors and because the concept is slightly different than more traditional approaches to education.

The strengths of Plimoth Plantation are that they clearly take pains to promote historical accuracy and authenticity. The actors' knowledge of the 16th century history comes through in their conversations and actions. They not only speak in character, but are busy going about everyday tasks as if you just magically found yourself transported to that era.

This is an nontraditional approach to education/history that takes a bit of getting used to. Traditionally, we are used to standing at an exhibit and reading signage or interacting with a person exhibiting a craft from that era but still speaking easily back and forth about the past and present. This museum's approach is more subtle and frankly may require more thought/interaction than the average visitor is accustomed to. To glean the most from the experience it takes time to visit the different characters and let them open up into conversations about their daily tasks or the objects around them, to ask them questions about their perspective, etc.

If you are not up for this kind of thoughtful interaction, I see how you might reduce the experience or see it as less valuable or intentional than it really is. If you walk through the plantation as you would an exhibit, you will gain some from the experience, but not as much as you would if you slow down and immerse yourself in the conversations and objects around you. Take time to notice the things around you.

In an era where we are so accustomed to videos and bright lights, it's easy to impose unreasonable expectations on such an experience. You will find no flashing lights and catchy displays here---less is more though. I enjoyed the simplicity of the lives of the 16th century native americans and pilgrims. It's easy to romanticize them from our comfortable 21st century lifestyle, but the experience gave me a greater appreciation for both their cultures and a greater love of history.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank bethbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
189 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Not as good as I remembered”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We hadn't been here in 15 years. We were so impressed years ago, that my husband said he would like another visit. On our visit so long ago, there were people role playing in almost all of the houses, and out on the streets, the men were even stopping children asking for help. On this visit, the people working seemed very limited to a few houses, no one outside planting or looking after the gardens, men just sitting around on a bench. Nothing in the way of the real lives of the pilgrims happening. Years ago, the women were cooking inside, telling us what they were cooking and inviting us to eat, when the food was ready. Not one house had someone cooking, telling us what their usual diet is, etc. It felt like an expensive waste of time, just walking in the heat, looking in empty houses, and watching about 3 men (the actors) sitting on a bench, maybe saying good day to you as you passed. My husband said "I guess budget cuts hit here also" .. It's really very sad.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank mittmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
428 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“On paper sounded great - but came off feeling kind of corny”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were very excited about visiting this living museum, as my wife has several childrens books photographed at this museum. You walk through a Wompanoag village as well as the Pilgrim village - both look as they did in the 1600's. In both villages there are people dressed in period clothing and explaining life at that time. In the Pilgrim village they even stay in character as if they really live there.

It all sounds very cool on their website and on paper - but when you actually do it, it really comes off as kind of cheesy. It seems weird that you are carrying on conversations with grown adults in full costume acting like they are Pilgrims. They go into elaborate stories about their family or jobs or town news. Maybe if you were a kid and learning about the Pilgrims this would bring history to life and be neat - but as an adult it felt very touristy.

To other people's comments the fee was very expensive to get in - $26 per adult for something that took 1-2 hours to do.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plimoth Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Plimoth Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing