We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Return Visit”
Review of Il Maestro Ristorante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Maestro Ristorante
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a Return Visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Mostly good things to say - food was excellent, atmosphere was good, wait staff was pleasant and always looking after us, prices were good.

Not so good - booths in the rear area were on the tight side. I don't need a lot of space, but it was nt a comfortable fit.

Not good at all - waiting one our for food to be served.

It's worth a return visit. Will try the bar area and hope not to wait another hour for the meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danieldC1452OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We went there on a Tuesday at about 4:45pm and were the only ones in the dining area. Server was professional and helpful, service from the kitchen a little slow. Bartender noisy as was the bar and brought down the overall experience of the dining area. I had the Chicken Saltimbocca which was good, but missing the sage. The tomato, mozzarella salad was very good. My guest had a pasta dish and the portion was large and tasty. The restaurant in general is very clean, comfortable setting and easy to get to with plenty of parking. Overall I would give it an average rating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Uninspiring food at best”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Average Italian food. We went on a Sunday evening at 8.00pm and were the only people in the restaurant other than a handful eating at the bar. The main courses cost $18 - $25. The chef's presentation lacks any finese - food smothered in sauces. I had one of two chicken specials - tenders over cheese ravioli with spinach, sun dried tomatoes and mushrooms $23 - it was all piled together in a mass under a blanket of sauce - it was flavorful and pleasant. . While tasty it could have been presented better. Others in the party had the lasagne (very meaty) and Eggplant Pamagian. One had the spaghetti Alfredo - she was sick in the stomach. Beer is around $5 (Sam Adams Draft), wine $8/9 per glass. There is a good wine list. For some reason the AC was cranked so high we felt cold. Overall I felt it was over-priced for the quality of food we had - certainly not Italian food like we experienced in Italy - perhaps that's too much to expect. Even so we would consider giving them a second try - everyone deserves a second chance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NigelMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian atmosphere”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The service was above average, the food was delicious.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TennisMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“delicious Italian food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

3 of us went out to dinner without reservations but were seated. We were served delicious bread with oil, garlic and spices. The eggplant rollatini was my favorite. It is an appetizer but plenty for a main dish with a salad. The portions are large. This was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Maestro Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing