We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Whale Watching & Fishing Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Absolutely amazing! It's been a week since we visited and we can't stop talking about how much fun we had and how great this trip was.

From ticket purchase to boarding the Cap't John's boat the Tail of the Seas it was all amazing. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and Krill our Naturalist was AMAZING and informative. She never sounded like Miss Monotone but was very open in sharing information and joining in our excitement when we saw whales and different sea birds. No sooner did we set out from the harbor she talked to us about looking for Ocean Sunfish. As we headed to Stellwagen Bank she gave us information about whales including their eating habits and what to look for.

We saw four whales on our trip. Two Minke whales and two Humpbacks - Forcep's and Geometry. Forcep's put on quite a performance for us, feeding right near the side of the boat - it was AMAZING!

What an educational trip for both adults and kids of really any age - younger ones are sure to nod off if the weather is warm. We felt like we had only been on the boat for mayb 2 hours and it was over 4 when we returned to Plymouth Harbor.

This is a definite yearly "must do" for our family. It really made us think about our places on this big blue marble we call Earth.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumbledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    64
    9
    9
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So many whales!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I was able to secure discount tickets online for Captain John's and it was one of the best bargains that I have ever purchased! Even though we had a 45 minute ride to and from the location of the whales, it was well worth it. What a beautiful sight to see a whale arise out of the water just a short distance from the side of the boat. And, the staff was very knowledgeable and made this experience one that my family will never forget.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nurseb711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A Whale of a Trip !”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Saw lots of whales. Some of them swimming together. They came right up next to the boat. Highly recommend the whale cruise.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank haztaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Scenic way to see the whales...”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Captain John whale watch tour out of Plymouth was a pleasant and professional guided tour and all around nice adventure. The boat took off right on time and there was plenty of seating indoor or out along with refreshments and snacks served the entire trip. The trip to P-town takes over an hour but leaving scenic Plymouth Harbor and seeing the Cape along the way was worth the time traveling. The guide was quite informative throughout the time seeing the whales and had a hands-on exhibit during the trip. The entire trip is about 4 hours and worth a wonderful afternoon on the water! Be prepared to purchase a family pic taken when boarding the boat - worth the memory!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank dmforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fantastic boat trip and great whales”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had such a great time as a family on the trip. It is a longer trip out than some of the other boat tours, but the crew were great and friendly. We had a lovely sunny day as well and saw some great whales, really close up. It was an experience we'll never forget. Thank you

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Superhoop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watching & Fishing Tours also viewed

 

Been to Whale Watching & Fishing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing