We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Anchor Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay for one summer weekend in a coastal town and found the Blue Anchor Motel in Plymouth. The motel has four units in the back. We stayed in Unit 1, which was one room with a king-sized bed and a bathroom. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The room had a TV, air conditioning, a small refrigerator and a microwave. Outside the unit were two chairs where we could sit in the evening and feel the ocean breeze while enjoying a cup of tea.

The owners were very nice and welcoming, sitting outside on their porch on hot summer days. Their two dogs, Miley, and Myrtle, were friendly and cute.

The motel is a short walk to the historical area, beach, and shops; and it is a 25 minute drive to Cape Cod. I would recommend this lodging to anyone visting the Plymouth area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgejr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

I like to give honest reviews so that you can get the most out of them. The Blue Anchor has its plus and minuses. My first comment would be that if you're looking for a place to just lay your head at night - say for 2 or 3 nights - then this place would do you just fine. My husband and I don't like paying a ton for our accommodations - we prefer to spend our money on attractions and such - so for us, basic works just fine. If you're looking for special amenities (pool, superior comfort) then I would suggest a more mainstream hotel or a more pricey B&B.

The first impression of the Blue Anchor is what a pretty house the B&B style rooms are set in. But, we didn't get to see the inside of the house - we stayed in the motel portion behind the house - which is somewhat like a tiny string of cottages.

The pluses: within walking distance of a lot of the main attractions like Plymouth Rock, the Mayflower replica, good restaurants, etc. The motel 'cottages' are in back of the house and in a fairly quiet area. They have parking for their guests too, which makes it a bit easier on a traveler. The people who checked us in were very nice, but we didn't really see them much after that (we didn't need anything really, so we didn't go to the main house after checking in). Its nice to come and go without feeling as if you're being watched which can sometimes feel like when you're in smaller hotels/motels/B&Bs. Clean towels were given to us each day, the beds were made daily and the grounds and such are kept tidy as well.

The cons: the rooms need some updating. They are clean and very simple, but have older looking features (such as the lights, the wood on the walls in places, the coffee maker, etc). The room itself that we were in was kind of small, but as I said, we're just here to sleep at night. The bathroom was very tiny though - as was the shower stall (I'm small and it was a tight fit). It had that 'motel' feel to it. My only real issue was the shower curtain liner - which looked a bit dirty to me. I'm big on clean bathrooms. The rest of the bathroom was clean though.

But - for just over $100 a night we got three nights of accommodation for the price some hotels wanted for one night. So, would I stay here again? Yes...for a long weekend I would. But, if I wanted a full week vacation I'd most likely want a place with a few more amenities and room to spare.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessielyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed in a two room suite out back. Super clean and cheap, with a fridge, microwave, TV, wireless. Very cozy, old-time decor, in a great historic town. Short walk to the beaches, stores, and shops. Run by a very old couple and closed winters. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbtVTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

As my business is tourism (tour director) I rely on Tripadvisor comments when making reservatons at various hotels/motels when organizing group tours. On a familiarization trip recently, I booked a reservation at the Blue Anchor in Plymouth, MA.

Now the reasons for my intro...."a secret that I don't want to share".

We booked unit No. 4 in the four unit mini motel nestled behind the main house situated on Lincoln St., in Plymouth. What a pleasant surprise. The two bedroom unit was meticulously clean and neat, fresh, and comfortable. Cottage decor, fridge, coffe maker, soft towels.......and best of all, each room was airconditioned. The beds were very comfortable which resulted in a great rest. Walking distance to the waterfront and various restaurants. Checking in was an easy transition, and the hospitality given by the owner was over and above the normal procedures.

I'm only sorry that I didn't book another night or so........but there will certainly be a next time.

I hesitate to send this review to Trip Advisor, because too many people will read the good reviews of the Blue Anchor which may result in the units being booked the next time I want to stay there.

Thank you so much Blue Anchor, for a truly delightful stay in Plymouth, MA.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tedporteous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennyCrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.8 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#9 of 9 in Plymouth
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Anchor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Anchor Guesthouse

Address: 7 Lincoln St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3325
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $96 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Anchor Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Anchor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing