We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most recomended B&B in plymouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We were on our way from NYC to Boston and just by chance we found the Thornton Adams house. The beautful house and garden the charming rooms and the exeptional hospitality of Sandy made our overnight in Plymouth a wonderful experience to try again and for some more days. Thank you Sandy
Ita&Moshe
Brussels/Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moshe_navon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

My first experience at a B & B was wonderful. When Sandy and Ron greeted us, it was like we had known them for years. They were the best host and hostess. The rooms were clean, and the food was to die for. We were there for 6 days, and we had a delicious and different breakfast each day. I thought Sandy was going to have to re- name her french toast after my husband. I would recommend this B & B to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stayed with my 12 year old daughter for 12 days at ThorntonAdams above the Bay and we had the best time ever! Sandy and Ron are very kind and Sandy cooks amazing breakfasts that you eat at a beautifully set table with the other guests, which were all very nice people to be with. The classic house is in a beautifull green setting with a view on the bay. Every morning squirls, chipmonks and humming birds come to the yard to feed. I saw all the rooms and the top floor suite for families. All rooms and bathrooms are spotless clean with nightlights, air conditionning and wireless internet. We stayed in the green room on the ground floor and the last night we were in the yellow room on the first floor: the beds and sheets in both rooms were soft and cozy - we slept like roses. We chose this location because we wanted a quiet but easy accessible home base for day tripping: Cape Cod (20 mins), Boston (40 mins), we even went as far up North as Salem and Rockport (2hrs) just on a day trip. You do need a car because there is so much to see in and around beautifull Plymouth that you would otherwise miss out on. Also to get to the public beaches access it's easier to have a car which you can locally rent. We also rented bikes for the day on Cape Cod. Sandy keeps folders and pictures with tips for day tripping. This B&B exceeded our expectations - it was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theackzer3547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I visited Thorton Adams this June during a busy week exploring many of New England's historical sites. I chose this B and B after reading Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. Sandy made sure that our stay-though brief- was memorable. She is an amazing hostess, so dedicated to making sure visitors enjoy their stay. She shared suggestions for our night in Plymouth, and recommended a wonderful beach for us to explore early the next morning. And although we had to leave too early to sample her legendary breakfast, Sandy made us fresh coffee and scrumptious homemade scones to go!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank KarlaCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Overall, it was a good experience to stay at the Thornton Adams. The ower was very friendly. Breakfasts were decent enough. Our room was very clean, but more attention could have been given to little details, such as having a nightlight in the bathroom, having a vanity or shelves in the bathroom for toiletries, having a clock in our room, having better pillows, etc. One thing we found that made us uncomfortable was a bottle of shower gel in the shower that other guests must have used for bathing, instead of having a fresh bar of soap. We thought that was unsanitary. Maybe we've just been spoiled staying at other inns that gave a lot of attention to details.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimiwoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We spent one night here and I wish we had stayed longer. The bed was the best I had ever slept on when away from home. Even the pillows were perfect. The shower in the downstairs room has enough room for three people and the shower head works great. The entire house is very clean and the food excellent. I could only wish to cook that well. The spirit in the house is very comfortable and the Innkeepers are very kind and supportive. I cant recommend this Bed & Breakfast enough! Good location as well. Guests can walk to some of the local attractions. My husband enjoyed photographing the little critters that came to the deck to steal what food they could. He really enjoyed himself, which is very rare! Wonderful experience...You wont have to invite me twice! I am already on my way!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Our stay at the Adams Thornton Bed and Breakfast was very relaxing and a great place to end our vacation after four busy days in Boston. The moment Sandy and Ron greeted us, there was an immediate connection. They both are so friendly and easy to talk to. They made us feel like we were their best friends. I highly recommend Adams Thornton Bed and Breakfast. I agree with the other reviews, Sandy makes a delicous breakfast. Her belgium waffles were awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 1teachergrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.6 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
4.8 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#9 of 9 in Plymouth
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast

Address: 73C Warren Ave., Plymouth, MA 02360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $135 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Colonial style B&B with ocean views and beautiful gardens in an upscale area only two minutes to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II, Plymouth Rock, Pilgrim Hall Museum, and Whale Watching. Also, minutes from miles of public beaches, golf course and wonderful restaurants, pubs and shopping. We are only 15 minutes to Cape Cod and a 55 minute train ride to Boston. We have an elegant King Jacuzzi Suite, a beautiful Queen room and a wonderful family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing