We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
221
18
9
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
18
9
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi room breakfast meals nice view of the bay great cook every morning place to stay both mornings plimoth plantation next morning comfortable rooms close to downtown downtown plymouth bagels hostess christine murphy attractions
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 253 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Above the Bay at Thornton Adams was the perfect place to begin our celebratory trip. Very comfortable and lovely accommodations (the best my lower back has felt in months) in a beautiful and quiet setting. Breakfast was delicious and the morning conversation wonderful. Our hosts, Sandy and Ron, could not have been more welcoming and kind. We highly recommend you stay with them!!!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had such a wonderful 2-night stay with Sandy and the othe guests! We found the home to be beautiful and in a central location where we could tour Plymouth and Cape Cod. The house is off the beaten path, which I loved. We would go to the downtown area, walk around to see all of the history, enjoy restaurants and even a little shopping! I liked not being right on the corner of all the activity so that when we did not want all of the hustle and bustle, we could retire to the home and our private room and bathroom. I would highly recommend renting bikes to tour the area. There is a nice bike path and it is a quick way to see a lot of the sights when you don't have a lot of time. We rented our bikes for 1 hour but there was also a daily rate. Sandy made our stay very enjoyable with very clean rooms, delicious breakfasts and valuable information on restaurants, etc. When we told her we were going to drive the Cape to Provincetown, she gave us a map that showed her favorite route to drive when wanting to see the beautiful scenery. We drove the Cape to Provincetown and went whale watching. What a wonderful experience! On our return, we stopped at Moby Dick's for dinner and found a beautiful spot in the sand by the water to watch the sunset. Before you knew it, we were back in Plymouth and stopped to get an icecream cone, walk around a bit more and retire to our room. The next morning, we drove to Boston to spend 2 nights there. What a wonderful long weekend to celebrate our 20th anniversary!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I am not a great fan of B&Bs ...breakfast with strangers early in the morning is not for me. Then there are all the do-dads that seem to be required decor. Limited parking, cramped rooms and watchful inn keepers give me the jitters. But when faced with poor alternatives such as the absence of hotels/motels I gave in and reserved at the Thornton Adams. This lovely home is a straight run on the outskirts of Plymouth central so is very convenient for access to restaurants. Ample parking, spacious rooms with decent bathrooms. A gem of an owner, Sandy, accommodating, generous with her time and knowledge, she whips up delicious breakfasts at the drop of a hat and skillfully guides conversations in a way that makes you forget that your breakfast companions are actually strangers and not old friends.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellieNyack_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed with our hosts Sandy and Ron for 3 nights in August, originally planning to stay for one night as we toured 'Cape Cod and Newport RI, we found Plymouth and Thornton Adams to be the perfect base to do this so stayed for 3. Sandy could not have been more helpful, giving advice on places to visit and the best routes to take to get the most out of our short stay. My wife is a 'coeliac' and therefore on a gluten free diet which can be a problem, not here, Sandy fully understood the problem and ensured each breakfast was different and very enjoyable!!! Plymouth is a wonderful place in it's own right and needs 2 or 3 days put to one side just for this area, unfortunately we did not do this so that on this visit so that's for next time when of course we will be staying at Thornton Adams with Sandy and Ron again.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

What a delight to find this accommodation having just arrived from the UK. Sandy made us all most welcome and recommended a place to eat for our weary bodies. Breakfast was a real treat and we hope we can return one day.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews