We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cold Spring
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Big and clean rooms, well equipped with mini fridge and microwave oven, nice free breakfast, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have stayed several times at the Best Western Cold Spring and it never disappoints.
Friendly staff, clean well maintained rooms and well cared for grounds. Small well equipped exercise room. On a visit in the summer, the outdoor pool is very nice with beautiful flowering shrubs surrounding it. After visiting Plimouth Plantation for Thanksgiving and staying for 2 nights, we moved to the Quincy MA Marriott for a night and we're sorry we didn't just stay at the Best Western in Plymouth, even if it meant more drive time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyhighandrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We loved the BEST WESTERN Plus Cold Spring!
The rooms: Exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The windows are actually opening so you can get fresh air! Everything is very well maintained.
The beds: Very comfortable.
Breakfast: nothing extraordinary, but a good basics. Fruits, eggs. waffles, bagels. Plenty to get fueled.
Staff: very helpful and friendly.
Location: one block to the ocean, 10 min pleasant walk to Plymouth Rock.

Room Tip: The corner rooms may be a bit noisy due to the proximity of wooden staircase leading to the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vacation4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My family has stayed at the Best Western Cold Spring for many years...since well before it became a Best Western. It is a quintessential New England "motor inn", owned by the same family for years, and their pride in the property is evident. (Part of the Cold Spring used to be the "Sleepy Pilgrim" motel.)

On this trip, my two married daughters, 6 month old grandson and I were traveling together to visit my elderly father in Plymouth. I had booked a regular, 2-queen bedded room at a wonderful AAA rate, and was thrilled to discover that we had been upgraded to a suite, with a separate, spacious living area with queen-sized sofabed, large bedroom with two comfy beds, good-sized bathroom and another sink outside the bath, plus a fridge and microwave. There was a crib waiting for the baby, all decked out with "baby boy blue" bedding. Everything was sparkling and spotless, as usual.

The breakfast is always good (I remember when breakfast was coffee, juice, and terrific doughnuts, back in the pre-Best Western days) with two wafflemakers, bagels, pastries, bread, sausages, eggs, fresh cut fruit, very good coffee and juices. The breakfast room was quiet mid-week, but got pretty crowded towards the weekend. There are plenty of trays provided, so we generally took breakfast back to our room close by.

There is a pharmacy, large liquor store, "5 and dime", and a great little restaurant with terrific pizza, pasta, subs, etc., in the shopping center across the street. The gorgeous harbor is just a couple of minutes away, and Main Street has some nice shops and restaurants.

It was a wonderful, comfortable stay, as always, and the thoughtfulness of the owners/staff was much appreciated. You can't go wrong with the Cold Spring.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dixieagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We needed a room for the night & it was getting late & we were hungry. The 2 motels we had on our sat nav, one was closed down the other full up so we though sod the expense Best Western has never disappointed us yet let's try there.
A quick phone call & we were on our way with a room reserved for us. The only room that was available for us was a family room......Well when you say a room it was more like a small apartment with a good size bathroom, an extra sink in the bedroom area & a living room area with a door to the bedroom. The bedroom had 2 king beds which were very comfortable as you'd expect from Best Western.
The inclusive breakfast was great with 2 waffle machines & fresh mix to put in them proving to be my favourite. As much coffee & cakes as you wanted, plus cereals, fruit & fruit juice too.
It may cost more to stay here than a motel but when you factor in 2 people's breakfasts & the size & quality of the room it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grubbytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was the first place we stayed during our tour of New England. We chose it based on location - and the reviews we've read. We were surely not disappointed.
The hotel looks like a motel from the outside (at least as I picture them), but there is much more to it than that.
The service is great, ranging from the greetings when we arrived, information on shopping and restaurants and the complimentary breakfast. We have booked a suite (2 Queens and a separate sitting room, separate area with sink, fridge and a microwave) which was perfect and spotlessly clean. The décor is a bit to the dark side, but OK and functioning.
The sleep quality is excellent - really great when trying to get rid of jet lag in one night.
There were two big flat-screen TV's as well, which was really nice.
The breakfast is fine with lots of cereals, bagels, toast, Danish and even a waffle maker. Coffee was hot, well-brewed and plentiful. One minus was though, that the breakfast room is too small when a lot of people use it, as the case was during Columbus day weekend - but we managed by squeezing us together and taking a bagel and coffee standing up.
As we apparently arrived in the middle of a autumn heat wave, we could even use the outdoor pool, which really was nice - great for the kids, as the depth ranged from 2" to 4".
The surroundings were very well kept and this all in gives you the impression that this place is run with care and pride.
If we ever get back to New England, we'll definitely stay here again.
Tip section: The harbour and many attractions, as well as a plethora of restaurants and shops are within walking distance, which makes the location really good. For a supermarket you'll have to go back and under the highway, where the is a large Stop and Shop. Just across Court Street there is a liquor store, which is amazingly well stocked.

Room Tip: The suites are really nice, but closer to the road. The traffic there is though not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We pulled into this hotel at the end of our New England trip and after staying at very nice accommodations throughout our trip we were not disappointed in this motel at all. The grounds were very nicely maintained and the lodge buildings were generously spaced apart. The clerk at the front desk allowed us to see two rooms before we choice a smaller room in one of the cottage buildings adjacent to the pool. The room had a very nice king size bed and flat screen TV. The bathroom was spacious although the lighting was a bit too bright. The room was small but comfortable with two chairs outside the door for outdoor seating. The pool was very clean and inviting although we did not swim because of the outdoor temperature. We did sit at the pool and enjoyed the comfortable seating and music. Very relaxing. The breakfast in the morning was very good with plenty of choices. The breakfast attendant made sure that everything was full and refreshed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the cottage. Although it was smaller than the suite that we were offered we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueG269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
0.4 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#9 of 9 in Plymouth
287 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cold Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cold Spring

Address: 180 Court St, Plymouth, MA 02360-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#1 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#4 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range: $120 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cold Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Cold Spring is ideally situated in the heart of historic Downtown Plymouth. Set among five acres of beautifully landscaped grounds offering a quiet retreat in a campus setting. Our convenient location is within walking distance to Plymouth's picturesque waterfront and only minutes to Rte. 3 for easy access to Boston and Cape Cod. Rail service to Boston is just minutes away.Guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate a peaceful and productive experience including free wireless Internet, a mini-refrigerator and microwave. From the vibrant décor to the signature Best Western Plus amenities including a heated outdoor pool and fitness center, you will find we have anticipated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Cold Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cold Spring Hotel Plymouth
Best Western Hotel Plymouth
Best Western Plymouth
Plymouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing