We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Union Fish - CLOSED

Union Fish
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were looking for a real New England lobster experience. Not a clam bake, mind you, but rather something perfectly prepared. Years ago, we had tried this restaurant and remembered that it had great food. During a walk along the Plymouth coast, we stopped by and had a chat with the head chef/ owner. Not only did he make a reservation, but he also promised that he would recreate our previous experience.
Later that week, we arrived and were warmly greeted. We were given our choice of tables - drinks followed right behind. Our waitress, Amy, informed us that the chef was expecting us and was preparing a stuffed baked lobster for dinner. We also chose crab cakes (more crab than cake) to start. With perfect unhurried timing, the lobster came out and was a sight to behold. The stuffing had a seafood mix that was light and tasted wonderful. Beneath was succulent lobster meat that had us wondering if they stuffed in an extra tail. We just sat back and enjoyed a wonderful, unhurried yet well attended meal. This was a rare treat that we will need to repeat again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    13
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent Menu - Poor Execution.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Dinner Menu is very small, but inspired. Six of us ate there one Friday night and there was no one else in the restaurant. There was no excuse for the poor execution in the kitchen. First, I will say that the Tuna Tartare and the Fried Artichokes were very good. The wontons for the Tuna were freshly made and great. Unfortunately, everything else went south. The Spicy Satay had about half of the flavor it needed. The Prosciutto wrapped cod would have been good, but it was completely drowned out by the olive tapenade. The seared sea scallops were just okay, but the risotto was only half cooked and crunchy. Finally the butternut squash ravioli was also half cooked and chewy as well as flavorless. The location of the restaurant is pretty neat, so it might be a good place to grab a beer on a sunny day, but I would avoid the Dinner Menu unless something changes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IPA_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ruined our Thanksgiving”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I went to a rehearsal dinner in September and asked if they were going to be open on Thanksgiving and they said yes and I should called in late October to make a reservation. I called in late October and they say November 1st...no problem. I called back and made a 2pm reservation for three people on Thanksgiving Day. We were there on vacation and very excited to go to Union Fish. We arrived at 1:55pm to find the restaurant closed. We eat our Thanksgiving dinner alone at a bar. I am very disappointed. They had my phone number. There were other people in the parking lot wondering what was going on. Thanks a lot!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenosojnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were glad to find this really nice place to eat down where 100s of sailboats were in dock. The seafood was delicious and the price was about what we would expect in this type of restaurant with this location. The waitresses were very nice and accommodating to our group which included a baby and a four year old.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TNRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a very large party which the restaurant was able to accomadate. The food was cooked to order and excellent! The clam chowder was the best I've ever had! If you choose to dine here, request to sit upstairs as you have a great view of the harbor and the Mayflower. Upstairs also contains a small deck with seating you can walk out on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank abusinesstraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Fish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing