We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genealogical Library”

Mayflower Society House and Library
Ranked #20 of 70 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is the headquarters for the General Society of Mayflower Descendants.
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,378 reviews
691 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
“Genealogical Library”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The House was closed but with so many Mayflower families in our ancestors we were thrilled to pay $5 to go through the treasure trove of history in the library. The woman that we spoke with asked which names we were researching and immediately showed us four or five areas and specific books to look at. It was fascinating. We were in there for hours. This was what we really wanted from Plymouth. This small building behind the big grand mansion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The librarian is most helpful!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were helped by the librarian to begin our search for Mayflower ancestors. She was helpful and guided us with thoughtful ideas to work upon when we arrived home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good research option”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited the Mayflower Society Library several times. The librarian was extremely helpful. They have some wonderful resources available to learn about the Pilgrims, your ancestors in the area, and the general area itself. I would highly recommend it as a stop for anyone visiting the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful tour and great guides”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A jewel in Plymouth, beautifully maintained and furnished with many of the items of the Pilgrims. The Mayflower Descendants should be very proud of this beautiful eighteenth century museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Brilliant guides”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The guides really make this place come to life. It was a shame that there are only two original pieces remaining in the house. I wish iIhad been told at the beginning that to be a member of the Society you need too be a proven decendant of a Pilgrim father as that would have made it even more interesting. Its excellent-go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Society House and Library also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Society House and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing