We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timeless Rock!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plymouth Rock

Plymouth Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
$625.20*
and up
Private Day Trip From Boston to Plimoth Plantation
Ranked #7 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now surrounded by protective pillars, this unimposing rock was allegedly the first piece of land touched by the Pilgrims in the New World.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Timeless Rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been to the rock before when I was 5 years old. I have fond memories of my trip then and returning to plymouth. The rock hasn't changed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    410
    542
    146
    63
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Don't get it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a summary of Plymouth Rock...once there was a important rock that stood right here...before it was broken off and moved several time before being returned to this same spot...at one third the orginal size...and is now protected against any further vadalism which is not working very well...which is suppose to be the first giant rock that the Pilgrims walked on upon arrival..so why is this an important historical landmark?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“American history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I live the next town over so I have seen the Plymouth Rock hundreds of times however my aunt was visiting in October , from Ireland and we spent the day walking through Plymouth center down to Brewster gardens which leads to the Plymouth waterfront, where the rock is located the walk through Brewster gardens is lovely with well landscaped gardens separated by a flowing river running through it and lots of lush green grass. On the water front is the rock, a replica of the mayflower many signs and pictures of how it looked there in the 1600s with historical facts for interesting reading. There are many restaraunts bars and ice cream shops try Ziggys for an extra lg scoop I love depending time there in the summer they also have live music on Wednesday nights!

Helpful?
2 Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worth seeing -- once.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was our first time in Massachusetts, and so we had to say that we'd seen Plymouth Rock. It was, well, a rock. Neat to see, but not worth the trip in and of itself. However, next to it is the Mayflower II, a recreation of the Pilgrims' ship. Now, that was cool! But as for Plymouth Rock -- see it, spent a minute or two getting pictures, and then move on.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's a rock”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Tremendous historical importance but come on; its a rock. I visited this attraction for about 34 seconds, which is probably above average (i was trying to read the graffiti

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plymouth Rock also viewed

 

Been to Plymouth Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing