We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not the Rock but the Symbolism” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plymouth Rock

Plymouth Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
$625.20*
and up
Private Day Trip From Boston to Plimoth Plantation
Ranked #7 of 68 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now surrounded by protective pillars, this unimposing rock was allegedly the first piece of land touched by the Pilgrims in the New World.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It's not the Rock but the Symbolism”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Basically, it's a rock covered by a nice Roman Doric structure. Weather it is THE rock no one will ever know.

Being a foreigner, I thought it was interesting to read about the whole story of the rock and how it became a symbol in American history.

If you're in the area, it's worth a visit. It is near the replica of the Mayflower.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    410
    542
    146
    63
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
VERONA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Was a nice stop on our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Was on a trip up the eastern seaboard and included this important piece of history as a stop. It was worth the side trip to see where the pilgrims landed. The Park and the community was a nice place to visit. We are glad we went, this is a area where you could spend a little amount of time or a day and be happy with each.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RandyHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very...very...GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was something in Massachusetts that I had wanted to see for a long time. I was very happy and excited and was surprised to see that the actual rock is bigger than how I envisioned it. The best part of it was it wasn't crowded. I thought it would be, since it is a very popular attraction. There is also a piece of it at the Pilgrim Hall Heritage Museum that you can touch. If you ever go to Plymouth, DO NOT MISS THIS!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbishopkyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It's part of our history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes, it's just a rock, but to hear the story about it is quite interesting. Be sure to time your visit so that you can hear the Park Ranger tell its story. If you get a chance, go by the Pilgrim Hall Heritage Museum and you can touch a piece of it. No, it isn't laser flashing lights and loud music, but Plymouth Rocks because it is where our forefathers (and mothers) are likely (or at least symbolically) to have stepped off the Mayflower and settled in this great country! Think about what it represents, people. What else do you think a rock would look like????

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank retired-luvnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Do you think it is the real thing? Unlikely. A rock is a rock. but whatever, this rock has some nice covering. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Cor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plymouth Rock also viewed

 

Been to Plymouth Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing