We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming even for a rock”
Review of Plymouth Rock

Plymouth Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Plymouth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston
More Info
$625.20*
and up
Private Day Trip From Boston to Plimoth Plantation
Ranked #8 of 70 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now surrounded by protective pillars, this unimposing rock was allegedly the first piece of land touched by the Pilgrims in the New World.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Underwhelming even for a rock”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Here we expected to see some kind of a big boulder on the seaside but it turns out to be a small rock with a portico around it. The area is kind of nice with a bunch of souvenier shops. We should have known when we parked the car that it was $1/hr but 2 hour minimum... They just want you to stick around and spend money on silly souveniers. There are actually 2 shops as part of the National Park in addition to the shops along the main drag. If you happen to be in the area or are a big history buff, by all means stop by. I wouldn't go out of the way and plan to spend a day there. I would say 1 hour tops.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunnishine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    452
    608
    166
    76
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's just a rock!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We live in Plymouth and see the rock all the time. I can understand if you are a history buff, or have kids learning about this in school, that you may want to see this, but really - it's just a rock! And it's not even at the original location and possibly not even the same rock.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nadineka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelming”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Plymouth Harbor is delightful, but be prepared to be underwhelmed by the rock. It is quite small and there is not much to it. The rest of the Harbor and Mayflower are another matter...definitely worth seeing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MacAtlantaGa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a Rock”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Be prepared for disappointment. This may be a piece of history, but it is no more impressive than any other rock you may see on your trip to Plymouth. If you are in Plymouth you mine as well sneak a peek, but I would not recommend you plan a day around this "Historical Attraction".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasonpcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not much of it left.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The rock is well presented along the seafront but the size is really disappointing . However the importance of such a piece of history cannot be denied . It is well worth seeing but only briefly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Santana1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plymouth Rock also viewed

 

Been to Plymouth Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing