We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had great hopes, unfortunately Mgmt. & Front Desk dash them”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Raynham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We had great hopes, unfortunately Mgmt. & Front Desk dash them”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Being a Pittsfield native son I had fond memories of the then Berkshire Hilton, now Crowne Plaza in Pittsfield. We made plans by booking directly with the Hotel staff, and were very clear on our requests. The reservation staff was friendly and accomodating. We wanted a pool side room so our twins could swim as we were in town for a family event the next day. All seemed great during booking. But that soon came apart as we arrived. Although we requested early check-in, and we know it's not guaranteed, we arrived 30 mins early - not 2 hours - only to be told our room wasn't ready. C'mon really not ready at 2:30 for a 3PM checkin!

Then we asked our kids could swim while we waited....Hummm they had to check with the manager - really? When I asked if I could use the luggage cart sitting there to bring our bags in, they said someone was reserving it - another really? I just wanted to stage my luggage in the lobby so I could park in the garage, while the family waited for our "early check-in". Finally they tell us the kids can swim. Now it's 3PM and I check in. I get to the room, and it's the room I reserved or asked for - now I'm getting really frustrated. Checking the room it's not really cleaned or outfitted with the linens for the pull-out couch/bed. No pillows for the kids. There's stale cookie or craker crumbs in the pull-out.

And the air-conditioner sounds like a small jet plane from the regional airport on the south side of town. If you turn it off, the heat from the pool area makes the room a soggy mess - like living in the Georgia swamps in July.

Now get this - we're told that the pool closes @ 3:30 for a private party. THEY DIDN'T tell us this when we booked the room! That's why we stayed there! To have the kids swim for the afternoon then go meet the family for dinner. So the main reason we stayed there for 160.00 a nite was to let the kids swim and hang out at the pool. So they were able to swim for all of 40 minutes and told to clear out because a wedding reception pre-party had the pool and bar area until early evening.

We asked why they didn't tell us the pool was not available for most of the day when we booked, and they said "We dunno know". Unbelievable attitude and not sense of customer satisfaction. I've stayed at Crowne Plaza's all over the country and Europe and have never seen such disregard from Staff for a guest.

Take-aways:

1. Get all the event information for the hotel up front - if there's an event your stay accomodations will be limited at best
2. Avoid the bar, you can buy a nice dinner and drinks for a family of 4 for the price of 2 beers, 2 juices and a snack at the Pool Lounge
3. Stay in Williamstown or South County and get your monies worth.
4. The Sunday brunch is also notedly not noteworthy - bland and stale. You'd be better off going to a local breakfast joint. Too bad The Dakota closed down - that was a real value and very well done. They took pride in their fare and service.

Although my niece has blocked rooms for her Fall wedding there, I'll be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Air conditioners very loud - if you have trouble sleeping this will be a reall challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Craig C,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    152
    113
    60
    27
See reviews for
132
112
22
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island new york
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Nice hotel with affordable rates and clean rooms. It would be nice, though, if the cleaners didn't talk to each other early in the hall and wake guests up early. Otherwise management is professional and the wifi service is strong.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seapinesmiserable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Seapinesmiserable,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had to change my reservation at the last minute and drop one day. What I didn't realize is their penalties for cancellation/alteration equalled the cost of the time I was deleting from the trip.

If you are going to stay at this place, make sure you are absolutely committed to your dates, otherwise it will cost you.

For what you get in this area, this is pretty pricey. You'd do better at one of the nearby bed and breakfasts or resorts where service is more personalized and the accommodations more cofortable,

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Paul L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. It is regrettable that you were inconvenienced by our booking or reservation options. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pittsfield hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our stay did not start out well; the front desk clerk was beyond rude and only after the desk manager stepped in was the issue corrected. Our room was nice enough; the wifi worked fine. There wasn't a microwave or fridge, which I've grown accustom to in similarly priced hotels. Vending machines were on another floor and were out of order. My worst complaint is the wretched parking garage. It's dilapidated, dirty, poorly lit at night. The $6.00 a day parking fee is ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agmilliron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear agmilliron,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the third time we stayed here for a bowling tournament.
While the hotel is old, it is clean and the beds and rooms seem to have been updated.
The parking garage is a little scary because it too is old, and in need of some repairs, but I felt perfectly safe using it at night.
The indoor pool is small, but the kids enjoyed it.
The location is great - food and shopping are within walking distance, or just a short drive away.

Room Tip: A higher up floor gives you a better view. We were originally on the 3rd floor and looked at a brick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb010305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just stayed here over this past weekend and let me tell you...the place was SOLD OUT for a bowling tournament and it was PHENOMENAL! The staff was very courteous and there was not a dirty speck to be found...I don't understand what others are saying that is poor about this place! It was very nice, very clean and we had absolutely NO issues!!! Kudos to the staff...especially for having to deal with SO many children at one time!!! Thanks for a great weekend! Will stay again for sure if I ever have to go back out that way!

Room Tip: The higher you are in the hotel the more amazing views you have from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weschultz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Overpriced off season accommodation, dirty, outdated, garage a nightmare....only good thing great breakfast included...go for breakfast...skip the hotel.....

People smoking in elevators, charges made from this hotel to my credit card for dates I did not stay at the hotel....go somewhere else if you are traveling to this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Calvi1435,

I am very sorry your recent stay with us was less than enjoyable. We take pride in keeping our hotel clean and updated, but it certainly sounds like we dropped the ball during your stay. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if there is anything I can do to address the issues you encountered. Keeping you as a customer is very important to us.

Sincerely,
Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.2 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Pittsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Pittsfield

Property: Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Address: 1 West St, Rte 7 & West St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Pittsfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Pittsfield-Berkshires Hotel offers a convenient downtown location, minutes from Berkshire attractions including several public golf courses,Tanglewood, Norman Rockwell Museum, Hancock Shaker Village, summer theater. One hour to Albany (NY) Airport. All guestrooms equipped with complimentary high speed internet. Free wireless Internet access in all public/lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Pittsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield Hotel Pittsfield
Pittsfield Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing