We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross horrid”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely the worst Quality Hotel in America. I can't even begin. Stay away at all costs. Dirty dated rude management. It had it all. Yuck!!!! Bathroom a nightmare, toilet didn't work right. And worst of all the manager gave me a hard time about switching rooms. First room had a stench.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photobuy712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 100 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here w Dad and brother while on a motorcycle trip. The outside is rough. Weeds in the landscaping, chipped paint, non-working lights. But they had a room & we were tired. Plus, the cost is about 60% of the other hotels in the area.

The room had new paint, carpet, and furniture. The bathroom had new granite counters and shower surround, as well as new faucets and toilet. Interestingly, the globes were missing from the vanity light fixture. Odd.

The shower did spit some brown water when first on - but it cleared immediately.

The room definitely was nice and terribly juxtaposed to the exterior. To make this review even more difficult - Alex the owner came up to introduce himself. Very nice man. He inquired about our motorcycles - and was particularly intrigued by my Dad's trike. Before you knew it Dad was driving Alex around the parking lot!

So here's my thought: make a reservation - but ask for a renovated room. Close your eyes as you walk from your car to your room (quite a trick, I know!). Open your eyes in your room and enjoy your stay at Alex's hotel.

Until the exterior is upgraded I just can't give this hotel a higher rating.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

What a delightful surprise! This Quality Inn is focused on the customer. All the staff are welcoming and helpful. It's in a great location. Nice neat and clean room bathroom was so clean I don't mind to eat my food in that. Would like to stay here again and recommend to my friends to.

Room Tip: New wing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments to the property. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a marvelous stay at the Quality Inn in Pittsfield. Wonderful interiors, very good service. Must recommend if planning on staying in the Berkshire area. Very reasonably priced too for the size of the room

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments to the property. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occassions for business and our company uses the hotel regularily.
The staff are genuinely concerned about customer satisfaction and are working to deliver the service levels that the Quality chain.

Room Tip: well nice and clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

i frequality travel to this hotel its under new management know really I enjoyed my stay at the Quality Inn in Pittsfield. I would recommend to anyone as a good economical place to stay and very friendly staff

Room Tip: rooms are really nice, neat and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

You would be well advised to sleep on a park bench in a snow storm than stay at this facility. From the mice feces on and in the waffle maker to the three time lock out of our room @ zero degrees and the 25 min. wait to have someone staff the front desk so I could get back into my room. I was treated better in a budget third world hotel then here.Drive on by the sign and driveway.

Room Tip: stay else ware
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank DonL1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#6 of 8 in Pittsfield
452 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
#4 of 8 in Pittsfield
37 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
494 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 16 Cheshire Rd, Pittsfield, MA 01201-1837 (Formerly Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range: $60 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsfield Hotel Pittsfield
Travelodge Pittsfield
Travel Lodge Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing