We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I learned a lot”

Herman Melville's Arrowhead
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Closed for the season. Tours will start in May, 2017.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I learned a lot”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Funny how I live near New Bedford, the city mentioned in Herman Mellville's "Moby Dick" and didn't know anything about the book or the man who wrote it until I drove three and a half hours away to this mans former home in the Berkshires. Its a very modest place for someone so famous, but take the tour and you'll find out why

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walt_Lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    57
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great way to learn more about Melville”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed our tour of Arrowhead, given by a young man who was very knowledgeable about Melville and his works. Even so, I was glad we were fairly knowledgeable beforehand.

Many of Melville's and his family's actual belongings are in the house, which was a nice surprise; many such historic homes depend on period pieces but not actual artifacts.

Unfortunately, it was a very hot day, too hot to walk around the grounds more extensively. Definitely a worthwhile visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank penel523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The entire setting is a museum”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Up in the hills off the road between Lenox and Pittsfield, Mellville's house enjoys a rustic setting with open fields and mountains in the distance, all of which intensifies the experience as you walk through Melville's own house. Good docent. For anyone who has read Melville or is interested in American history, this is well worth the visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GilBagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great docent made it a good tour.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Interesting home of Herman Melville. If you're interested in history or just like old houses, worth seeing. Open all year now, which is nice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, MA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Candlelight and Chocolate”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I loved this Christmas season event! I learned things about Melville about which I had no clue. The candlelight atmosphere was really special. The chocolate desserts were delicious and fun. My only concern was, as a tree nut allergic person, I could not try many of the chocolate items because no one there knew the ingredients. I suggest, to Arrowhead and to out fancy local chocolate company, that food items be labeled or an ingredient list be provided to alert patrons to common allergens.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CFCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herman Melville's Arrowhead also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Herman Melville's Arrowhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing