We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and simple”

Canoe Meadows Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #8 of 25 things to do in Pittsfield
Attraction details
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty and simple”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful scenery, and we really enjoyed the wildlife viewing building where you can look out on one of the ponds. The trails are pretty flat and kept in good condition with clear signs to keep you on the right path.

Be aware there is one porta-potty, no visitor's building or bathroom.

The only downside to the visit was that there were several groups of teenagers smoking pot throughout- a bit of a surprise!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank n0rtheasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trails and birding”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We go frequently; our friend Norene leads bird walks there on Friday mornings, and there are always wonderful spring wildflowers as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is SMALL but it's dense. There are two ponds, one with a wildlife viewing structure at the end of a boardwalk. Toward the end is a very small waterfall and a stone bridge. There are fields of tall grass, wetlands, views of idyllic Berkshire hills, and forests. We always see something here whether it's a beaver or a turtle. We have seen evidence of bears, so take precautions. One time we even saw a mama turtle laying eggs in the middle of the trail. Great place with short, easy trails. This is a GREAT place for small children who cannot walk as far for a payoff such as a beaver pond, etc.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buskahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

wonderful sencery.clearly marked trails.bird watching house,small bridge and waterfall.great in fall i get the best fall pictures.great for a walk in nature sometimes i see deer!!! beautiful place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Easy summer hike or winter x-country skiing”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

One of the Mass Audubon Berkshire properties, includes many easy hiking trails across meadows and along the Housatonic River. Parking is limited, conveniently located between Pittsfield and Lenox.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sirius7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Meadows Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Pittsfield, Berkshires
 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to Canoe Meadows Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing