We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Meal, Attentive Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nook & Cranny - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nook & Cranny
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Pleasant Meal, Attentive Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its 12:15. We're due in court at 1:00 PM. All we had eaten so far today was the free breakfast in the motel, and we were hungry. Just before crossing the street to the courthouse, there was Nook and Cranny. Lets stop in.

Menus are on the table. As soon as we sit down the server asks about beverages. Hot coffee for me, and iced tea for my companions. We order ... tuna salad platter for me, and breakfast burritos for each of my companions.

Everything arrives quickly. Mine is great and just the right size. Tuna over a bed of greens with slices of tomato, peppers and cucumbers along the sides, and a balsamic dressing. Companions like theirs too. The server is very attentive and keeps our drinks full without even being asked.

Cell phone rings. Its our lawyer. We tell her we're at Nook and Cranny. She knows exactly where it is, and she joins us in minutes.

We were all able to have a good meal and get to the courthouse with time to spare. We'll be back.

Just one comment to the half of the prior reviewers that referred to the Nook and Cranny as a diner: Its not. Those of us from New Jersey, the diner state, know all too well what a diner is. We're in them all the time ... stainless steel and glass exterior, open 24 hours, surly waitresses, owner named Nick behind the cash register.

What Nook and Cranny IS is a very pleasant little luncheonette, with good food prepared and served by people who aim to please ... a type of place that is being squeezed out by personality-starved chain restaurants and is getting harder and harder to find. We hope this one lasts a long time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UneasyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great spot for diner breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We seek out diners when we travel in New England, and we always return to this one. Great breakfast, with many standard diner options (pancakes, eggs, great bacon, etc.) at a very reasonable price. Nothing fancy, but nice folks, fast service, clean and friendly. Park on the side street; it's a very short walk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeterMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Below average and greasy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife ordered eggs and hash browns with coffee, the coffee was old and tasted gross. The eggs were ok, but the hash browns were so greasy it held the grease like a sponge, gross. My home fries were bland crusted old potato squares. I will never eat here again, and won't recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I were in this area for the first time and decided to check this place out. It was okay. It's a small old school diner kinda place. I ordered a seltzer with lime but they didnt have lime or lemon because the truck didnt come in yet. Not much else in the area to chose from.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vbkate725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible & Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ordered a footlong with sauerkraut. It arrived cut in half and minus the sauerkraut. Requested the sauerkraut again, it was thrown on the table in a paper cup and cold. Ordered the macaroni and cheese, was asked if I liked creamy Mac & Cheese, I do and was looking forward to being served a creamy Mac & Cheese. It was penne pasta laying in a bed of olive oil with half melted shredded cheese laid on the top. Will not go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nook & Cranny also viewed

 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing