We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you want to introduce your children to the world of museums without hearing, "I'm bored"?”
Review of Berkshire Museum

Berkshire Museum
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established by Zenas Crane in 1903, Berkshire Museum integrates art, history, and natural science in a wide range of programs and exhibitions that inspire educational connections between the disciplines. In association with the Smithsonian since 2013, Berkshire Museum is part of a select group of museums, cultural, educational, and arts organizations that share the Smithsonian's resources with the nation. Located in downtown Pittsfield, Massachusetts, at 39 South St., the Berkshire Museum is open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Saturday, and noon to 5 p.m. on Sunday. Admission is $13 adult, $6 child; Museum members and children age 3 and under enjoy free admission.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do you want to introduce your children to the world of museums without hearing, "I'm bored"?”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Berkshire Museum is the perfect venue...not too large...a bit of art...a bit of science...a bit of history...and some great interactive experiences for children. Children will not be bored or over-dosed. There is a fascinating exhibit on view now about paper. Sounds strange? It is terrific - a must see. Even this has some activities for children, and there is a lot that will stimulate conversation with your children. Don't miss it! There is another exhibit on view ( a hodge podge from the permanent collection). Dull? No! There are so many interesting things that everyone is bound to find something that will fascinate him/her. Check their website to find out more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    76
    27
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Museum”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The current Paper exhibit is wonderful...should not be missed!
The museum is a real gem and even has a cinema with art movies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were excited to find a museum with-in walking distance of the hotel we were staying, with prices that seemed reasonable. We were lured in with the brochure description of an aquarium, theatre, and fun things to do/explore. We were disappointed when we got inside. Their "aquarium" consisted of six fish tanks in the lower level. There were some tortoises and turtles in the same room, but I don't consider those aquarium animals. Their two touch tanks were empty. The other room on the lower level had, at most, eight reptile tanks. We were excited about the idea of a dinosaur exhibit, but were disappointed when it was only one room--and not a very full room. They did have a spot for kids to "dig up" dinosaur bones, but that was it for "hands-on". They have a theatre, but it is an extra charge and wasn't offering anything when we were there. The second floor was the better of the three. There were different sections. They had some neat art and history plus more "hands-on" exhibits like paper folding, paper puppet making, and puzzle solving. The third floor is like half a floor, an open gallery with art on the wall. There was some neat stuff but overall we found it a little lacking for the price.....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DealMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did not visit with kids but I could see what a wonderful museum for children this would be; the museum is an intimate size and there are several kid geared (but also enjoyable for adults) exhibits. We went solely for the Paper exhibition and were so glad we did. AMAZING. What a delightful 90 minutes we spent musing over the art, culture, and history of paper. Fascinating. The curator did a wonderful job pacing this exhibit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler_1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't expect a big-city museum!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is small-town Berkshires at its best: a little something for every age. I have brought my kids here since there were very young and are now 7 and 9.

They have interesting travelling exhibits that change every now and again. When we visited, it was all about paper art!

This is a staple afternoon trip for locals and school kids. It is a well-loved community gem. This is also a place that adults can enjoy for an hour or two! Then stroll down North Street for lunch at Baba Louies for awesome sourdough pizza and amazing salads.

The gift shop is lovely! They sell local artist pieces and support local initiatives that help the community such as Blue Q and CATA.

You won't get the size and extent of a big-city museum and you also won't get the crowds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MontereyMama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkshire Museum also viewed

 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to Berkshire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing