We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Not to be Missed" attraction”

Hancock Shaker Village
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hancock Shaker Village is a living history museum whose mission is to bring the Shaker story to life and preserve it for future generations. Called the "City of Peace" by the Shakers who lived here for 179 years until 1960, this community was the third of 19 major Shaker Villages located in New York, New England, Kentucky, Ohio and Indiana. There are 18 original historic buildings on this site. The staff and volunteers are dedicated to making the Village a center for reflection on living the principled life. The values that the Shakers embraced -- equality, pacifism, community, sustainability, responsible land stewardship, innovation, simplicity and quality in work -- resonate with us today. In addition to viewing the architecture, we have so many things to see including the farm and gardens, the animals, costumed interpreters, demonstrations of handicrafts like weaving, spinning, and blacksmithing, hiking and walking trails, the Discovery Room where kids can do hands-on activities, photo and art exhibitions, a cafe and picnic area. We have modern amenities and the village is handicapped accessible.
Tyringham
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“"Not to be Missed" attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

New England's fall foliage can't be beat and this years Country Fair at Hancock Shaker Village is spectacular. Truly something for everyone -- the children enjoyed the goats and pigs in the round stone barn which is a marvel onto itself. The juried arts & crafts were more than top notch. Thee is something for everyone here from gardening to medical to farming to engineering to the arts. The grounds were in their typical manicured to perfection condition. (Their regular dining area far better than Samels that they had for the festival... they kept running out of chips and soda and you name it) Their regular restaurant serves top notch high quality items reasonably priced. Parking area is enormous and even with the high turnout for the Country Festival it was all very well handled and orchestrated. There are always on-going events that are well worth attending. Highly recommend visiting here and doing so often. I actually prefer this to Sturbridge Village by a country mile!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandrafarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    116
    28
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Every year our family of 5 with kids now 7-11 head over to the Berkshires. One of our highlights each year is a visit to the shaker village. The kids enjoy checking out the animals and craft room and if you have any interest whatsoever in history and/or engineering you will be not be disappointed. My husband enjoyed participating in a shaker box workshop a couple of years ago. The impact the shakers have had on technology and their emphasis on functional designs is impressive. The village fair held every September is always a highlight for the whole family, the quilt gallery is beautiful and the pie baking competition always a hit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Fall Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent the afternoon here during their Country Fair weekend. Really wasn't big on the fair part but loved touring the grounds and all of the buildings. It was a perfect fall day in a beautiful setting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
397 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A Well Kept Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

A windshield tour of Hancock Shaker Village (actually a ride and stop to take photo tour) resulted in an interesting find for future visiting. Because i had already been to Sturbridge Village and felt that Shaker Village was similar I passed up on time spent at Shaker. Let me say only this. that if the attraction is as good as it is clean and well maintained, I will be very pleased to stop there in the future. All the buildings are in superior condition, the landscaping is well maintained, flowers are blooming throughout the property and there is ample parking. The attraction provides special events throughout the year, and facilities can be rented as well. Next time a definite visit for me.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dave2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Unlike many historic villages, the buildings here are the real deal, not reproductions. They beautifully illustrate the innovative attitude of the Shakers and the tremendous care they applied to their endeavors. I am not sure that it would have enough entertainment value for some children. But the sheer beauty of the place makes it a delightful visit for adults. The food in the cafe is very good, too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mojoWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hancock Shaker Village also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to Hancock Shaker Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing