We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay at the White Horse Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsfield B&B and Inns
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delightful stay at the White Horse Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our winter weekend at the White Horse Inn. John is a very gracious innkeeper and he makes staying at the Inn a comfortable experience. The Inn is a wonderful old house with lots of charm, and the location is great. We visited museums in North Adams and Williamstown to the north, and the Pleasant Valley Audubon site and Monument Mountain to the south. Each time we returned to the Inn in the afternoon, John had hot tea and cookies ready for us - very nice on this snowy and frigid weekend! Breakfast was delicious both mornings - great selection of breads, cereals, and fresh fruit along with a wonderful hot main course. We had a king room in the back of the house, and it was perfect - very comfortable bed, small sitting area, and very quiet. John knows all the restaurants and attractions in the area and can provide lots of information and recommendations. We highly recommend the White Horse Inn, and hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc_hopkinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay at the White Horse Inn. I really appreciate that you took the time to write such a comprehensive review, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It's great that you were able to take in so much of what the Berkshires has to offer, even on a chilly January weekend (museums, hiking, great restaurants).
It was a real pleasure having you stay with us. I enjoyed chatting with you over a cup of hot tea, and I really hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Thank you,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tripmasterflash
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just another B&B, I thought, till the moment we arrived and I instantly felt right at home. John, the owner, was welcoming and friendly and just...there for us. We visited a couple of wineries in the area and John was prepared with corkscrew, wine glasses and cookies each night. It's an older home which makes it interesting to explore, yet very cheerful and clean. We stayed in the king size room on the 2nd floor in the back of the house. It was spacious, comfortable and had everything we could need for our two night visit in November. It was also a great location for getting around the Berkshires. We were in Pittsfield to meet the parents of my daughter's boyfriend and it was so wonderful to have a relaxing place to retreat to at the end of the day. I was sad to have to leave on Sunday but John invited my daughter and boyfriend to join us for breakfast that morning so we left on a really happy note. We will be back.
PS: We asked for a tour of all the rooms before we left and though I would have my favorites, there wasn't one I wouldn't stay in.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room in the back (I think 8?) was very quiet and comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmasterflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the White Horse Inn. It was really nice having you stay with us, and I'm glad that your daughter and her boyfriend were able to come over and join you for breakfast.
I look forward to your next visit.
Best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Came up to MA for a trip and timeshare tour. Decided to stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. Best idea ever. Close to a main strip with great food and entertainment and all amenities stores you would need. John the innkeeper was amazing, had great recommendations for activities and eating and a GREAT breakfast. The inn and room was perfect. Perfect temperature and great size. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at the White Horse Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your weekend. It was a pleasure having you be our guests. I'm delighted that you you were happy with my restaurant recommendation. The food at "Flavours" is fabulous and our guests have always been happy with their experience there.
I look forward to seeing you again.
Best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our short stay at the White Horse Inn. We stayed in one of the king-sized bedrooms on the 1st floor and it was roomy, comfortable, and spotless. John, the owner and innkeeper, was welcoming and warm. He made us feel at home and offered guidance and provided directions when we asked about local restaurants. Breakfast was delicious!
We can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSelkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am most grateful to you for taking the time to write a review of your short stay with us at the White Horse Inn. I'm very glad that you found everything to be comfortable for you. It's great too that you enjoyed your meal at Baba Louie's. We are very lucky to have such a nice restaurant in Pittsfield.
We look forward to seeing you again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Ct.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The White Horse Inn is located in an old house on the main road south of Pittsfield, nevertheless it is a peaceful and pleasant spot. A large deck overlooking a garden at the back of the house provides a relaxing spot for reading or an afternoon drink. Inside, several of the large rooms of the old house have been converted into bedrooms. Our room once was a drawing room or parlor. Now it is a large and comfortable bedroom with a very soft king bed, an “electric” wood stove, HD-TV, Wi-Fi, and a large bath. A large and sunny breakfast room looks out over the rear deck and a garden with apple trees. Our breakfast was a tomato basil fritta plus fresh fruit and yogurt, with a choice of breads, cereals, juices, and coffee. John and his wife were very friendly and relaxed hosts. The Inn is only about 12 minutes from Tanglewood and is close to many other Berkshire activities. We could only stay one night, but would like to have stayed longer. Perhaps we can return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am very grateful to you for taking the time to write this review of your stay with us at the White Horse Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your short time with us and I look forward very much to having you be our guests again.
Best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are great fans of Tanglewood, but not fans of the massively overpriced and often disappointing accommodations that one finds in Lenox. We decided to try Pittsfield and the White Horse Inn, and were very happy that we did. The Inn is small (8 rooms) which means you get to know the hosts well, and that's one of the great bonuses of staying here. John and Gina are as nice a pair of innkeepers that you could find anywhere--gracious, accommodating, and very eager to make sure that your stay is a good one. We also got to know and chat with other guests whom we met at breakfast and that was also one of the great highlights of the trip. I noticed that a previous review complained about the size of the rooms--because this is a house and not a cookie-cutter Holiday Inn, you should talk to the innkeepers when you book to make sure that you get what you are looking for. We really enjoyed our room; it was more than spacious. We also liked the fact that the floors are hardwood which means it's a much cleaner place than your typical motel or hotel with wall-to-wall dingy carpet. We were so impressed by the hospitality, the easy drive from Tanglewood, the cleanliness and the lovely breakfasts that we plan to be here next year again.

Room Tip: When booking, talk to the innkeepers about what type of room would suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at the White Horse Inn. I am so grateful to you for taking the time to post your comments on your time with us, and I am delighted that you will be coming back.
Best,
John McGovern
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This B&B is on the main road through Pittsfield and an easy drive to Lennox and Tanglewood. But the room we were given was dark, small, as and without charm. The floor was uneven, half sink in the bathroom, and room for only one person to sit. The innkeeper was helpful, but the room was claustrophobic. On the plus side, there was a cheerful breakfast room, deck, and back yard. Breakfast was well prepared and delicious.The innkeeper generously allowed us take apples from the backyard tree. Everything was fine except the small, over priced room.

Room Tip: Location relative to Tangle wood is its best asset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolegth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us at the White Horse Inn, and thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your room. When you told me that you did not like the room I offered to let you choose another Queen room, or to upgrade to a more spacious King room.
I am sorry too that you thought us overpriced. We strive to be competitive with other hotels and B&Bs in our area. However, we respect your comments and will take a close look that our pricing to be sure that it continues to be fair for the services we provide.
Sincerely,
John McGovern
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
1.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#4 of 8 in Pittsfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
0.6 mi away
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Pittsfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 378 South St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing