We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsfield B&B and Inns
Selkirk, New York
2 reviews
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our short stay at the White Horse Inn. We stayed in one of the king-sized bedrooms on the 1st floor and it was roomy, comfortable, and spotless. John, the owner and innkeeper, was welcoming and warm. He made us feel at home and offered guidance and provided directions when we asked about local restaurants. Breakfast was delicious!
We can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSelkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am most grateful to you for taking the time to write a review of your short stay with us at the White Horse Inn. I'm very glad that you found everything to be comfortable for you. It's great too that you enjoyed your meal at Baba Louie's. We are very lucky to have such a nice restaurant in Pittsfield.
We look forward to seeing you again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Ct.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The White Horse Inn is located in an old house on the main road south of Pittsfield, nevertheless it is a peaceful and pleasant spot. A large deck overlooking a garden at the back of the house provides a relaxing spot for reading or an afternoon drink. Inside, several of the large rooms of the old house have been converted into bedrooms. Our room once was a drawing room or parlor. Now it is a large and comfortable bedroom with a very soft king bed, an “electric” wood stove, HD-TV, Wi-Fi, and a large bath. A large and sunny breakfast room looks out over the rear deck and a garden with apple trees. Our breakfast was a tomato basil fritta plus fresh fruit and yogurt, with a choice of breads, cereals, juices, and coffee. John and his wife were very friendly and relaxed hosts. The Inn is only about 12 minutes from Tanglewood and is close to many other Berkshire activities. We could only stay one night, but would like to have stayed longer. Perhaps we can return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am very grateful to you for taking the time to write this review of your stay with us at the White Horse Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your short time with us and I look forward very much to having you be our guests again.
Best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are great fans of Tanglewood, but not fans of the massively overpriced and often disappointing accommodations that one finds in Lenox. We decided to try Pittsfield and the White Horse Inn, and were very happy that we did. The Inn is small (8 rooms) which means you get to know the hosts well, and that's one of the great bonuses of staying here. John and Gina are as nice a pair of innkeepers that you could find anywhere--gracious, accommodating, and very eager to make sure that your stay is a good one. We also got to know and chat with other guests whom we met at breakfast and that was also one of the great highlights of the trip. I noticed that a previous review complained about the size of the rooms--because this is a house and not a cookie-cutter Holiday Inn, you should talk to the innkeepers when you book to make sure that you get what you are looking for. We really enjoyed our room; it was more than spacious. We also liked the fact that the floors are hardwood which means it's a much cleaner place than your typical motel or hotel with wall-to-wall dingy carpet. We were so impressed by the hospitality, the easy drive from Tanglewood, the cleanliness and the lovely breakfasts that we plan to be here next year again.

Room Tip: When booking, talk to the innkeepers about what type of room would suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at the White Horse Inn. I am so grateful to you for taking the time to post your comments on your time with us, and I am delighted that you will be coming back.
Best,
John McGovern
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This B&B is on the main road through Pittsfield and an easy drive to Lennox and Tanglewood. But the room we were given was dark, small, as and without charm. The floor was uneven, half sink in the bathroom, and room for only one person to sit. The innkeeper was helpful, but the room was claustrophobic. On the plus side, there was a cheerful breakfast room, deck, and back yard. Breakfast was well prepared and delicious.The innkeeper generously allowed us take apples from the backyard tree. Everything was fine except the small, over priced room.

Room Tip: Location relative to Tangle wood is its best asset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolegth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us at the White Horse Inn, and thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your room. When you told me that you did not like the room I offered to let you choose another Queen room, or to upgrade to a more spacious King room.
I am sorry too that you thought us overpriced. We strive to be competitive with other hotels and B&Bs in our area. However, we respect your comments and will take a close look that our pricing to be sure that it continues to be fair for the services we provide.
Sincerely,
John McGovern
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I spend 6 nights at the White Horse Inn when visiting the area to watch our son play ball. You will not find more accommodating and gracious hosts than John and Gina. They provide a charming clean comfortable place that makes you feel as if you are staying with an old friend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaqollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us at the White Horse Inn, and very many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We really enjoyed having you as our guests. It was great to see how you were able to spend time with your son, but also take in so much of what the Berkshires has to offer.
Thanks again, and we hope that we will see you again soon.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This B&B is just outside Lenox, in Pittsfield, on the main road, convenient to Tanglewood, the Shakespear theaters, Audobon and other hiking paths and to downtown Lenox and Pittsfield. There was no shortage of places and cultural events to go to and good places to eat within a few miles from the place. The most difficult part was deciding where to go next. If these pluses weren't enough, the pleasant and attentive hosts and impecable cleanliness of the place puts it over the top. We spent 3 nights in mid-July, 2013 and found everything great. John McGovern was so pleasant and helpful with getting the answer to any question we had, from logistics to food, right from the time we made our reservations; and his wife was just as friendly and helpful. The spacious breakfast room overlooks the deck porch and the beautiful garden surrounding the lawn area. I strongly recommend staying at this place to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Our room on the 1st floor in the back was very quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for being our guests at the White Horse Inn. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed it so much. It's great that you found our central location in the Berkshires convenient to the wonderful places that you were able to enjoy during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
313 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Together with another couple we stayed three nights and used The White Horse Inn as a base to attend Tanglewood, Shakespeare Theatre, hike in the Audubon Wildlife Sanctuaries, visit The Mount and visit a local winery. The owner John McGovern is a perfect host. He offered helpful suggestions and made our dinner reservations at various restaurants. He also served an excellent breakfast. The inn is small, but very clean. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are air-conditioned. The deck and the shady lawn in the back are nice places to enjoy a glass of wine and review the events of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpatmcgov, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our guests at the White Horse Inn, and thank you especially for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Your very kind words are much appreciated.We hope that you will come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
1.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
#4 of 8 in Pittsfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
0.6 mi away
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
Yankee Suites Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Pittsfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: 378 South St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-6804
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing