We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you pay for, with solid service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 4, 2013

There are times when you need budget accomodations in a less than budget area, but don't want to feel like you have to sleep with one eye open (for vermin, or falling objects). Best Western Berkshire Hills is a perfect budget hotel in a pricey area (Berkshires in the summer time? Open the wallet and pay a NYC price for a small room, minimum 2 nights, thank you very much). But there was no minimum stay, the room was big, clean, had free wifi, great air conditioning, and a serviceable breakfast included. A suitable win, to quote the guys at the other end of the Mass Pike.

Front desk staff was remarkably knowledgeable and helpful (found a good dinner spot and got some ideas for exploring the next day). Big thumbs up all around.

Only thing keeping it from five stars -- the walls are kind of thin, and we heard the people next door getting up early (what on earth rouses someone out of bed at 7am on a Saturday??)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowmanonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lobby counter always staffed, even late at night for anything you need. Love that round pillow. Coffee, tea, cereal and other small stuff available, if needed at night. Friendly, helpful, courteous staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Best Western has a property known as Berkshire Inn & Suites about 5-minutes west of Pittsfield, MA. Having traveled to that area, rich in culture and of course Tanglewood, a place to stay at least on a moderate budget becomes in handy. This facility beats them all. Clean and recently updated; you can't beat the price or the accommodations - I'd say "best value in the area"!. Breakfast is on the house; take an apple on your way out. It appears to me that Best Western has been concentrating on upgrading its facilities. Will seek them out in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Slightly shabby, but appeared to be clean. One of my pet peeves is a slow tub drain - I always wonder, "Why don't the housekeepers notice that?" The coffee was terrible, and the breakfast was mostly inedible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After reading the positive trip advisor reviews and discovering that AAA gives this hotel three stars, we were expecting a wonderful hotel. We found an average hotel. The room is decent, clean, with a comfortable bed, but there is nothing special about it. The sink is in the hall of the room. The bathroom with the toilet and tub is very small. Pillows are small and "wimpy". The one arm chair in the room is not very comfortable. There is not much of a lobby. The halls and breakfast room are rather drab.

When you walk into this hotel, it does not at all feel like other three star AAA hotels. The $125.00 plus tax that they charge is highway robbery. It is about three miles from the center of town. We stayed in the middle of the week and it did not appear that there were many other guests. As lackluster as this hotel is, it is probably better than the other hotels in Pittsfield which is probably why they can get their exorbitant fees.

My husband said that his breakfast --- scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, bacon, and make your own waffles was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Like many others, we had to go to Berkshires for a camp visiting day in mid-July. Because of that, EVERYTHING in the area books up quickly and is very expensive, even overpriced, and this was no exception. It's a basic roadside hotel/motel (I heard it was a Ramada once) but has been done over very nicely with new decor and furnishings. We booked a family suite, which has a very large room with king bed and sitting area (with fridge and flat screen) and a smaller bedroom with a double bed, perfect for our family of three people.

We were there in the midst of a heatwave. Suddenly on our first night, at 3am, I woke up sweating... the a/c in the main room had failed somehow and was now pumping out hot air! I called the front desk and the night clerk came up... the thermostat on the wall had failed and nothing he did affected the a/c unit... he couldn't turn it off! Finally, it quit/died on its own... we opened the window and were able to get a couple of hours of fitful sleep afterward.

Naturally I was upset... but before I could even say anything, Mayur, the incredibly accommodating GM (may also be one of the owners of this independent hotel) sought me out in the breakfast room, introduced himself, and apologized profusely. Apparently a design flaw in the thermostats/wiring is starting to surface in the hotel, and they have been replacing them with a/c units with a built-in thermostat. I asked to move rooms, and he told us that since we liked our room so much, he and his team (it was a Sunday) would replace our a/c unit with a brand new one while we were out... they did and it worked beautifully.

Not only that, but on check out, without asking, they deducted $50 from our bill for our inconvenience. Mayur again came out of his office and thanked us and invited us to stay again.

You can't guarantee that problems won't happen at a hotel, but when the staff is so helpful and accommodating and works so hard to make things right, it's hard to stay angry.

We will be back!

PS-- Only drawback we could find was that there is no pool in this hotel... not a dealbreaker for me.

Room Tip: We saw in some reviews that folks found it noisy... we asked for the top floor, end of hall, and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyctraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A perfect stay, immaculate premises, friendly staff and good location to downtown sites and Hancock Shaker Village. Very spacious room and excellent breakfast to start the day. Overall, highly recommended. A good central location for exploring Melville's home, historic Lenox, Mt. Greylock and other attractions. Baseball fans be sure to check out historic Wahconah Park (home of the Pittsfield Suns college baseball), a gem of a ball park. Pittsfield is the site of the very first collegiate game played between Amherst and Williams Colleges and is one of the earliest places baseball was played in 1791!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amy Whorf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
586 reviews
8.2 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
3.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites

Address: 1350 W Housatonic St, Pittsfield, MA 01201-7514 (Formerly Best Western Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range: $90 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites proudly offers 59 spaciously appointed guest rooms each complete with microwave, refrigerator, 37-inch LCD television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a delicious complimentary hot breakfast. This Berkshire hotel's additional amenities include an exercise facility, whirlpool suites and fireplace suites. Business travelers will appreciate the quality meeting facilities as well as our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berkshire Hills Hotel Pittsfield
Ramada Limited Hotel Pittsfield
Ramada Pittsfield
Pittsfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing