We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern theatre, but the play was disappointing.”

Barrington Stage Company
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barrington Stage Company (BSC) is a professional award-winning Equity theatre presenting top-notch musicals, masterful classics, thought-provoking new work, cabarets and youth theater on four stages from May through October as well as a New Play Festival in February. Co-founded in 1995 by Artistic Director Julianne Boyd, BSC is perhaps best known for premiering William Finn and Rachel Sheinkin’s Tony Award-winning musical "The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee" and was voted Best Theatre by "The Berkshire Eagle" readers in 2011 and 2012. BSC welcomes groups and offers senior and youth discounts.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern theatre, but the play was disappointing.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I saw "The Chosen" on the Main Stage. This is a beautiful modern theatre. It is very comfortable and there is plenty of legroom. However, the play was a bit disappointing. A great deal of explaining is done in the beginning, but later in the play things are not always clear. I did not like the staging and at one point the hasidic rabbi makes a speech which is virtually unintelligible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelmina87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    27
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Alway top notch entertainment”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have never been disappointed. Always very professional, often with Actor's Equity cast. Very well managed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have seen many plays over the years here and have never been disappointed. A very nice, rennovated theatre, that is clean and welcoming, ticket prices are reasonable and the selection of shows covers all tastes. The performances are always excellent and the audience is appreciative. There are many nearby places to eat before or after and directly across from the theatre is a wonderful bakery with the best carrot cake ever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"The Chosen"”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to see this production with friends, including an equity actor (regional theatre) from NYC who is particularly knowledgeable. All of us loved this production; it was excellent, as was "On the Town", from what we heard from the same friend. BSC continues to offer Broadway-caliber shows in both venues as well as encouraging young talents through their youth theatre programs. Sorry to hear that they are catching some flack for their reservation policy at the Cabaret.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and...”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We've supported and enjoyed BSC's productions for years! We think they're by far and away the very best theater has to offer -- here in The Berkshires or on Broadway. But now they've done something that angers many long-time patrons. They opened "Mr. Finn's Cabaret" in a basement space that seats 100 people at closely packed tables and at the bar. By and large, the shows have been outstanding...BUT. They advertise this as non-reserved, open seating. When you get there you find they reserved at least three-quarters of the good tables with good sight-lines for "special" people, leaving us plebes to scramble for the remainder or sit at the bar on stools with no backs. We have to get there at least three-quarters of an hour early to scramble for the left-overs. They have even reserved many of the few parking spaces. This is highly elitist and leaves us 'ordinary' supporters upset. Before you buy tickets for the cabaret you might want to consider our experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarringtonStageCo, Public Relations Manager at Barrington Stage Company, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. This is the first full season at our new venue, Mr. Finn's Cabaret. It has been exciting, and we have been overwhelmed by the turnout - sold out houses the first year! We are continually exploring ways to improve our patrons' experiences, and we realize seating has become an issue. While some tables had been reserved for the cabaret sponsors and BSC board members, we realize this creates challenges for patron seating in a general admission house. We are currently reviewing our policies (and are considering the possibility of reserved seating for the 2014 season) so that the level of service we provide at Mr. Finn's matches that high level of service and seating found at our Boyd-Quinson Mainstage and St. Germain Stage theatres. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrington Stage Company also viewed

Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to Barrington Stage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing